Subete ga F ni Naru – Smoking Habits of Saikawa Souhei

So I’ve been watching Subete ga F ni Naru and I’ve been enjoying it quite a bit. At first, I was a little iffy since it started off slow, but it’s been great so far.

I do have some suspicions as to what’s going on. I haven’t watched the live action (I’ll probably take a look after the anime is over), so I’m completely in the dark here, but I won’t mention it. Why? Because there’s an even bigger issue when it comes to Subete ga F ni Naru….

Subete ga F ni Naru

Saikawa Souhei’s smoking habits.

I hope I’m not the only one worried about the young professor’s lungs, because the amount of smoking he does is dangerous for his health and wallet. Health wise, I think we all know the risk of smoking. But I’ve noticed that whenever Saikawa smokes, he only takes a few puffs and then trashes his cigarette.

That ain’t right.

Anyways, because no one asked for it I decided to look through each episode of Subete ga F ni Naru and see how many times he’s smoked one of his pricey cigarettes.

Episode One:

Subete ga F ni Naru 1

In this episode, we were introduced to the brilliant professor Saikawa Souhei and his student, Nishinosono Moe, who happens to have a very obvious crush on him. She doesn’t even mind that he smoked five cigarettes in front of her and smoked an extra 25 (give or take) before she even got there.

I bet his office smells like nicotine and empty promises.

Episode Two:

Subete ga F ni Naru 2

Magata Shiki is found dead! How is this possible, when she’s been in a locked room for fifteen years? Locked Room? Murder? Sounds like a case for Enomoto-san….or Saikawa and Moe, since this is their show.

Speaking of Saikawa he smoked about four cigarettes.

Episode Three:

Not only is Magata Shiki killed, but her legs and arms have been amputated. It’s disturbing, because this wasn’t a spur of the moment murder, but a cold and calculating one. Also, the Director shows up only to be killed. At least he gave us two solid thumbs up before he got stabbed.

Two murders, one in a locked room and the other literally over their heads. Saikawa isn’t doing too well and decides to smoke 30-35 cigarettes.

Episode Four:

Subete ga F ni Naru 4

We get to see inside Shiki’s room and after finding out that she had sex with her uncle when she was thirteen; I’m going to assume that she had a kid with her uncle. There’s been a few hints here and there, but no real proof yet. Also, the Deborah system is up to six in Shiki’s office while everyone else in the lab is only dealing with version four.

Surprisingly, Saikawa takes a breather here and only has one cigarette.

Episode Five:

Subete ga F ni Naru 5

Shiki and her uncle definitely had an inappropriate relationship going on. Not only is he her uncle, but he’s married and she’s only 13. I mean, come on. That being said, she clearly has a hold over him and I found it both intriguing and disturbing at the same time. When she gave him a knife for his birthday and he instantly knew what it was for, shows how easily she manipulated him. Did she make him into her doll and get him to kill her parents? Or did some else do it?

Doesn’t matter at this point, because Saikawa has had enough of the murder and mystery and decides heads back to the camp grounds. During this episode, he had another six cigarettes.


Since the first episode, Saikawa Souhei has had about 70+ cigarettes, which is the most disturbing thing in this anime for me. I mean episodes 2-5 happen in one day. If you average that out, then he’s smoking anywhere from 30 – 40 cigarettes on average per day. That’s just a little over half a cigarette per hour.

Subete ga F ni Naru 3

That doesn’t really seem all that healthy. Plus, it annoys me that he doesn’t finish his cigarette either. I’m not a fan of smoking, but if you’re going to smoke at least smoke your money’s worth. According to google, the average amount of cigarettes per pack ranges from 20-25. So he’s smoked almost four packs in two days.

Saikawa Souhei clearly has a smoking problem, but I’m curious to see how many cigarettes he ends up smoking by the of this series, so I’ll be keeping track. Mainly to satisfy my curiousity, because if you think about it Saikawa’s smoking doesn’t really matter in the grand scheme of things.

And yet, I must know….because.

4 thoughts on “Subete ga F ni Naru – Smoking Habits of Saikawa Souhei

  1. Jamie

    I noticed the excessive smoking too (though I think its hard not to notice because WOW. SO MUCH SMOKING. lol) I was thinking of keeping track but I haven’t had time, so I’ll be looking forward to your total count at the show’s end! XD

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      The smoking is excessive, but I think it’s because he keeps pulling out a cigarette, smokes a bit, saying two words, then throws it away. After another few words, he pulls out another one.

      I think if he kept the original cigarette with him, then it wouldn’t seem so excessive.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Subete ga F ni Naru: The Perfect Insider 11 END « DameDesuYo Fansubs

Leave a Reply

