First Impressions: Peeping Life TV: Season 1??

Woo! Fall Anime season is well underway and yesterday was my blogiversary. What better way to celebrate it then with a First Impression of a weird anime.

What I was expecting: Clearly I’ve been living under a rock, because I’ve never heard of the Peeping Life series before. So I did what any normal person would do in this situation, I looked up a previous season of it and checked it out first.

After watching a few episodes of Peeping Life – World History, I think I have two main expectations for this show. The first expectation is horrible animation. I mean really bad boxy weird arms and faces animation. The second expectation is a fun time, because even though this show deals with mundane things, it’s hilarious. I’m glad I checked out a previous season of this show, because it helped get me excited for what’s to come.

How it really was: Wow, I’m actually impressed with the animation here. It’s still not the greatest thing in the world, but it’s a huge improvement from what they had before. Low expectations really do make shows better.

The humour is still funny and very similar from what you’d see on a Japanese comedy show. From what I’ve read, the Peeping Life works by having two voice actors basically do improv on the topic given to them by the writers/director. Everything else comes after that, which is definitely a unique way of going about things. If you’re not a fan of the bickering, slowish type humour, then you’ll probably not like this series very much. But if you’re willing to give it a chance and you’re a fan of say Gaki no Tsukai, then I think you might enjoy this.

Peeping Life S1 (2)

I know I did!

Watching this show reminds me of the Batsu Games when all five comedians are left to their own devices in that famous room of theirs. Watching Matsumoto come up with ways to make everyone laugh and seeing them interact are some of my favourite parts of the Batsu Game. And I think that’s why I enjoyed the show.

Overall: Yea, this will get a weekly recap on the blog. It’s almost too weird not to be featured here.

One thought on “First Impressions: Peeping Life TV: Season 1??

Leave a Reply

