Wakako Zake 9 – Kani Miso

Today Wakakao goes a bit over her budget and decides to eat a Japanese delicacy called Kani Miso (カニみそ). Her drink of choice, is some hot sake since it goes well with the fishy taste.

I don’t know what Kani Miso is. All I know is that it’s from a crab, so I looked it up and here is what the first hit on google said:

Ask a Japanese person what they think kani miso is and more often then not the word ‘nou miso’ (脳みそ) will come up (i.e. crab’s brain). However this is a common misconception.

The truth is far more horrific, the brain size of an average size crab is little more than that of a pea, and kani miso is whatever is left after all the white meat is taken out of the crab – a nasty looking concoction of internal organs such as livers and pancrease, intestines, their contents and just a little bit of the actual brain. Over tofu though it’s delicious!

Japan: Stippy

Wakakao Zake (1)

I think I’ve seen Jamie Oliver make something like this, so it doesn’t sound too far out there for me. Then again, I’ve never had crab before. Growing up my mom didn’t really cook a lot of seafood, mainly because she didn’t like seafood.

I did want to try it, but I also don’t like my food looking at me so I haven’t had the chance yet. Maybe if it’s just crab meat (and not the artificial kind) I’ll give it a try. As for Kani Miso, I think the broth from it would be really tasty, but I don’t know if this is the first thing that I’d want to try from the lovely crustacean.

Wakakao Zake (5)

I mean, you are eating all of the internal guts. For some, this would be vomit inducing. But for Wakako, it just makes her smile with glee. I do like her mindset when it comes to the dish too.

Since you’re already consuming the animal’s life, you might as well eat everything. For her, it’s more due to the fact that kani miso is delicious, but this is a concept that I fully support anyways. We waste a lot of food in the world and sometimes I think it would be better if we went back to the ways of the Bushmen and Natives. Honour the animal, kill the animal in a good way, use everything that you can for food, and use the rest for other things.

But I digress. I won’t go into a rant about food waste and animal cruelty when it comes to food, since this is a light show…and this isn’t the blog for that.

Wakakao Zake (3)

Just know that Wakako enjoyed her dish, even though she did get a bit drunk by the end of it.

Leave a Reply

