Makura no Danshi ep 6 – Chuunibyou Maki Yuu

There’s currently a heat wave in my area and I’ve been melting ever since it came. It’s hot, it’s humid, and it’s giving me a headache. I just need something to help me forget about the heat and help me unwind.

Thankfully, Makura no Danshi has a new episode out.

Today’s Pillow Bishie is Maki Yuu, a ‘freshman that doesn’t want to be accused of having delusions of grandeur’….he’s basically a suffering from chuunibyou and believes that the sty that he’s suffering might awaken soon.

I’ve never met someone who has chuunibyou. It’s not really something you see in Canada, so my only experience with them comes from anime and manga. If there are people who are actually like this, I think that they’d be a lot of fun to hang out with. Sure. it might get frustrating after awhile, but on the plus side, there would never be a dull moment.

Maki doesn’t seem too into the chuunibyou though, since he isn’t talking about death this or dark and dark that. Other than the eye patch and the ribbon on his wrist, I wouldn’t even know he’s into this. He seems like someone who only found out about it recently and decided to try it out since he has to wear an eye patch due to his sty.

My favourite part of the episode was when he tried to go into reflective mode about how he’s always alone, only to follow it up by mentioning his friends. It was funny and super cute.

Makura no Danshi (3)

Not cute as in, “I wish I had someone like him in my life and pillow.” Instead, Maki comes off as a younger kid who just discovered something he’s really into and can’t stop talking about it. When this happens, you just let the kid ramble on as you sit there with a smile on your face.

That’s how I felt with this episode. I may not want him as my go to Pillow Bishie, but Maki is definitely a cute kid and I enjoyed this episode.

Leave a Reply

