First Impressions: Yong Pal – weak windows meet Snowpunzel

The last two kdramas I watched were kind of disappointing. Hopefully this one is good!

What I expected: Black Jack meets Snow White? At least that’s how the synopsis sounds to me. I do like doctor dramas and this one seems to have a mixture of hospital politics, shady/dirty doctors, and doing things in the underground world. Add in the fairy tale factor with the patient in the coma and I have a feeling that this will be good. I did feel that way about Last and Mrs Cop too though…so I’m hopeful, but not expecting much. That way I won’t end up disappointed if it ends up being bad.

How it really was: One of my biggest pet peeves in kdramas isn’t hand/arm grabbing or how the love story seems to take over everything, while sad music is played in the background, it’s bad driving. Is it so hard to keep your eyes on the road? Especially when you’re chased by multiple cars? Thankfully, the driver died….which sounds horrible, but I do appreciate that there was a very real consequence to bad driving.

But then the show’s next scene had the lead female, Yeo Jin, jump through a window….a window that was perfectly fine. After what happened to the guy in the car, I do understand why she’d feels responsible and wants to kill herself, but jumping through a window that’s stable isn’t the way to do it. Thankfully, windows don’t break that easily and yet this is the second SBS show that had windows break due to someone running through them. At most, you’d get some bruises and feel really embarrassed as you side down on the floor, clutching your arm in agony. When you look back at the dreaded window, you notice that the damage it got was a few smudges.

Not in the SBS universe though. The fact that she went through the window and it shattered means that there should be a lawsuit here. The people installing these windows do not deserve to be in the window selling business.

yong pal

It’s only four minutes in, but so far we’ve had bad driving and weak windows. Needless to say, I was rolling my eyes quite a bit here and was gearing up for another disappointing episode.

Colour me surprised though, because once the the doctor drama started and my interest instantly picked up. It kind of makes me annoyed though, because this show was able to give us capable doctors, proper gangsters, cops that are able to use their skills to find someone, and proper pacing. While watching this, I kept having flashbacks of Mrs. Cop and wondering how different that show could have been if it had the writers here. (Sorry!)

Not much is known about Yeo Jin’s character. So far, she seems like a mixture of Snow White, since she’s in a coma. But also Rapunzel, because it’s clear that the hospital is kind of like a tower for her. She’s even on the twelfth floor to further push this point home. Until we know more about her situation, the scenes when she shows up (while small) are the low points of the two episodes.

The main story has been the rise and fall of Kim Tae Hyun, a Daimon Michiko type surgeon who always saves the day for other doctors while they take the credit for it. He doesn’t seem to mind though, only because he’s able to swindle some money out of the patient afterwards. And unlike Daimon, he’s able to play hospital politics even though everyone hates him and finds him to be a money grubber.

During the days, he’s a charming doctor who cares for his sick sister. At night, that mask fades and he puts on his Yong Pal mask as he treats gangsters and other criminals in order to get more money for his sister. I’m not sure when he sleeps exactly, or how he’s able to retain his attention in surgeons, but he does it all with a smile on his face.

We see his highs in the first episode, but by the second he’s blackmailed into never doing surgeries again. Instead, he’ll take a position in the twelfth floor where I’m going to assume he’ll be the doctor/prince to Yeo Jin’s Snowpunzel.

I’m not sure if the show will have a fairy tale-esque sort of theme here, but we’ve had red lips, a mirror, and blood during Yeo Jin’s scenes, so I kind of hope that the show goes this route and makes it twisted. I really loved the scene with the nurse doing Yeo Jin’s make up was creepy and menacing at the same time.

Overall: The acting is good, the plot moved at a good pace, and the story line is actually really interesting. My only complaint is that the surgery scenes seemed way too fake. If you have problems with blood, then maybe skip the next few pictures.

Now, I’m not a doctor. I’m not even a nurse. I didn’t even take biology in school (much to sadness of my mother…on all three points) but I’ve watched my fair share of medical dramas and the bodies used in the surgery didn’t seem like human bodies.

Maybe it’s a good thing that Tae Hyun isn’t doing any surgeries anymore, at least not at the hospital, because it didn’t look good at all.

Other than that, I quite enjoyed the show. Both episodes were great to watch and I’m interested in seeing where it goes from here.

9 thoughts on “First Impressions: Yong Pal – weak windows meet Snowpunzel

  1. kokonoona

    Those surgery pictures look 😐 but I think I might want to watch this drama because Joo Won is not a bad actor and also because medical dramas are my stuff!
    Have you watched the medical drama White Tower?

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      Right! They look really bad and kind of took me out of the scene. Other than that it’s good, so definitely give it a try!

      I haven’t watched White Tower. Most medical dramas that I’ve seen are jdramas. – I just looked it up and it looks like there’s a kdrama and jdrama version of it. I might check it out. Thanks for the recommendation!

      Have you watched a lot of doctor dramas?

      Reply
  2. Pingback: YONG PAL. SBS. | IKurate

  3. junny

    Haha, I laughed at the weak windows part, and those “surgery” photos look really bad and amateurish. I am also allergic to Joo Won. Are you gonna do 5-line recaps for this like you’re doing for Death Note?

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      There was only one scene of surgery, so maybe they didn’t have the budget for it? There might be another one in the next episode, so hopefully it doesn’t look as fake as this one.

      If things work out, then I’ll probably start the 5 line recaps next week. 🙂

      Reply
  4. DDee

    “Thankfully, the driver died….which sounds horrible, but I do appreciate that there was a very real consequence to bad driving.” That cracked me up so hard :D. I only lightly skimmed the synopses so I’m guessing KTH is Snowpunzel cos she locked in a tower, sleeping (i.e. coma), and Dr Healer Yong Pal is going to save her. T

    Reply
      1. DDee

        I just started watching this, and it’s a little wacko but I really like it! And yes thankfully the driver died because frankly, who drives like a maniac just because you want to elope with your gf??

        Reply
        1. mochirochi Post author

          I know, right? One commentator on soompi mentioned that something was done to the car, but the guy was still driving erratically right from the beginning.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

