Gakkou Gurashi! ep 5 – I Am Destiny, coming to a theater near you

I just powered through five episodes of Gakkou Gurashi! and I’m glad I did, because this show is fantastic! It’s funny, I’ve read the first chapter of the manga, so I knew the twist in the end of episode 1. I also remember liking what I read, but since I forgot to bookmark it I just forgot to read it again….seems to be the theme for this season of animes. Jitsu wa Watashi wa, Himouto! Umaru-chan, Gansta, Akagami no Shirayuki-hime and a couple of others are all mangas that I started, liked, but forgot to keep read…

It ends up working in my favour though, because now I get to be surprised since nothing is spoiled for me. At least that’s what I keep telling myself lol.

Mini Impressions so far: THIS IS AMAZING! The moe characters living their life in a slice of life setting is a stark contrast to their actual reality. There’s something about moe girls dealing with dark matters that work though and I think this show has a nice balance between the two. The darker moments are the stronger bits though, only because that’s when the tension and action kick into gear and the story starts to move forward. By the end of the episode, things are bleak and depressing, but you still feel somewhat hopeful because the characters are moe.

It might end in a horrible tragedy though, considering how the OP keeps changing. *sigh*

With that out of the way, here’s a recap of episode 5.

The episode starts with Miki all alone in her room. While it was lonely before, at least she had her best friend at Taroumaru with her to keep her company. With them gone, and presumed dead, then what’s left for Miki now? Does she stay in the storeroom till help arrives? Or does she venture outside and risk getting killed? Kei couldn’t take it, but she’s probably dead. What a horrible situation to be in.

Thankfully, Yuki and the gang arrive to the mall to stock up on supplies for their club outing and even run into a very resourceful Taroumaru.

Gakkou Gurashi! 6

Seems like the zombies behave like they’d normally do if they weren’t, you know, zombies. So on weekdays they’re at school or work, which is why the mall isn’t that full and probably filled with older people. Random life hack – if you ever have to do some serious shopping go during 9:30 – 11am. There’s not that many people around, so you can quickly get your stuff without waiting in line or whatnot.

I think the girls in the School Life Club took heed of this advice, because there’s not that many people around when they arrive at the mall. It could be that everyone is a zombie now, but I also think they went between 9:30 – 11am. This provides them with enough time to stock up on some much needed canned foods and try on clothing. It’s almost like a regular girl’s day out, only there’s zombies around and you could die at any moment.

Once done, they check out the other levels and find themselves at the cinema. Taroumaru starts barking, so Kurumi checks to see if there are any survivors around, leaving Rii, Yuki, and Megu-Nee to look at the title of movies they could have watched if there were, you know, no zombies around to kill them. One of the movies playing is “I am Destiny.” That made me chuckle. I am Destiny is a spoof of the title I am Legend, which is fantastic book by the way. The movie is horrible, but the book is great!

Gakkou Gurashi! 4

I am Legend and this show do have some similarities though, I just hope that this poster was just a fun easter egg and not foreshadowing something that I don’t want it to foreshadow. But seriously, go read the book if you haven’t. It’s great!

Back on the Gakkou Gurashi, Kurumi ends up running into a horde of zombies, causing the girls to run for their lives. Ain’t nobody got time to die on this show. It’s a good thing too, because Miki hears the commotion and finally decides to leave the safety of her room.

This does also provide a fun contrast between Miki and Yuki. Miki, once she hears the others, breaks free from her ‘delusion’ that help will eventually come as long as she stays in the room. Once she realizes that this isn’t the case, she packs up and leaves. On the other hand, when Yuki sees the zombies, her delusion breaks slightly too. Instead of coping, she just checks out though. We do get a sense that it’s breaking, because we get a flashback, or at least a nightmare, of her friends from school.

What’s interesting about this scene is that when things are okay her classmates’ uniforms are blue. When they become zombiefied, they turn green. Does this mean that green = reality, while blue = delusion? That would explain why Yuki’s uniform is styled differently than everyone else, even though she goes to the same school.

She does seem to have some idea of what’s happening and even recognize that she needs to keep away from the zombies, but it seems like something traumatic that made her stop seeing the world for what it really is. What made her escape from reality and embrace her delusions?  I don’t know. Zombies would probably scar a lot of people, but it seems like something bigger happened. During the scene of the girls are saving Miki, we get a bit of an answer to this. It happens quickly, but it’s enough to make us understand her.

Gakkou Gurashi!

Ahhh! With this, I’m pretty sure that we now have confirmation that Megu-Nee is dead. I feel so bad for her, because she tried so hard to be a good teacher to the girls. I really hope that she gets a hero’s death. She deserves it! When we finally get to see this episode, I’m sure it will bring a lot of feels.

Poor Megu-Nee 😦

The episode ends with the girls escaping the mall with Miki. I do have more questions now though. It seems like Megu-Nee died way before Miki ever joined the group, so what happened and how long has she been dead for? Was she the body that Kurumi looked at way back in episode two when the girls went on their test of courage walk? At first, I thought it was just that random zombie girl Kurumi killed, but was it really?

This show. I don’t usually rewatch animes, but I think I’ll have to rewatch this one to catch all of the little hints that the writers put in.

One thought on “Gakkou Gurashi! ep 5 – I Am Destiny, coming to a theater near you

Leave a Reply

