First Impressions: Death Note 2015 (jdrama)

So Death Note as a live action drama.

What I was expecting: As someone who has read the manga, watched the anime, the live action movies and the fat parody of this, so I should be excited for this. Even Junny mentioned that it might be something that I’d watch…but  I’m going to be frank here and say that I’m not expecting much from this drama.

I know that it’s going to be different. If you’re going into this expecting it to be the same Death Note, then you’re going to end up disappointed. It’s been over 10 years since the Death Note manga started, so things will obviously change to fit with the current times. For example, during that famous potato chip scene where Light is watching the news on a mini tv, here he could be using his smart phone. Plus, there’s the added aspect of social media as well. So to remake the manga and not include today’s technology or social norms would be stupid. If those are added in, then other things need to be changed as well.

Now even though I’m not expecting much, I do hope this surprises me. Just like how I watched Liar Game (kdrama) till the end, I’ll do the same here.

How it really was: So, the very first scene of this drama shows Light at Misa’s concert. He’s apparently a fan of hers. After this, we see a typical male on male bullying scene that’s common in a lot of Japanese school dramas. Then it looks like Ryuk specially chose Light to have his death note, instead of just dropping it somewhere and Light being the only one interested in picking it up.

death note2

At this point (about six minutes from the first episode), I think everyone who is expecting a true manga to drama adaptation will be severely disappointed because the story is different and Light has lost his initial feelings that the world is a crappy and boring place.

But on the plus side that just means that the drama will offer a new interpretation of the story and there’s nothing wrong with that. If Cinderella can give us Ella Enchanted, then maybe the drama can end up being amazing even though it changed a few a lot of things things.

Positivity! Right! Right?

Who knows, maybe this show will end up giving us an awesome haired version of Light in the end ala…

liar game8

Shameful I know, but I will always look for an opportunity to post this because it’s just fabulous! This was the best scene in kdrama version of Liar Game. The best scene!! And the most memorable.

I do think Liar Game does share some resemblance to this drama. Both tried to change things up and while Liar Game was hit and miss, I do hope that Death Note does something unique with their version. I don’t want the same thing over and over again, as that will get boring, but if you make it your own then you need to do it in a way that makes sense to the story that you’re telling. If that doesn’t happen, then everything will look bad no matter what you do.

Overall: This is definitely different, there’s really no way to deny that especially considering how I’m a fan of the original. Not only is the story changed, but the characters are very different as well. So if you’re a fan of the Death Note universe, then be prepared for that before watching the show.

That being said, since I came here with low expectations I didn’t find it as bad as I thought it might be. L isn’t as eccentric or cool as he is in the original, but the cops do come off as incompetent which I think will actually help the show. The cops being stupid will help explain why they were unable to catch Light for so long.

Plus, my biggest complaint about the show isn’t the characters or the plot, but the fact that Light can’t write properly in his Death Note.

death note

Write inside of the freaking lines Yagami Light! Two lines to write down a name is not acceptable! You learn that sort of thing in kindergarten or maybe first grade. Implement what you’ve learned and stop wasting paper! I don’t even mean to compare, but the original recipe version of Light knew the value of paper and used his Death Note properly.

death note3

Anyways, I’m going to watch the rest of the episode, so I can start recapping this. Lower expectations = more surprises, so hopefully this show will end up being fun and not get me frustrated like Liar Game did.

2 thoughts on “First Impressions: Death Note 2015 (jdrama)

  1. junny

    LOL that pic. The more I look at it, the more cone-shaped it becomes XD

    Seems the Death Note drama starts picking up around episode 4. I read that one of the actors (can’t remember whether it’s the guy for L or Light) has been knocking it out of the park. I still need to get started on the films, though I’m not really too keen on Matsuyama Kenichi.

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      The films aren’t that great to be honest, but I think that might be because I felt like they changed things a lot there too and I wasn’t as open to it as I am now.

      Episode four does get better though. Hopefully it continues on like this!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

