First Semester with Hatoful Boyfriend: Day 1, Meeting the Birdies

During Valentines, the good people of Humble Bundle decided to give some of us single folk a helping hand by providing the Humble Weekly Bundle For Lovers (of Games). It was there that I saw Hatoful Boyfriend.

hatoful boyfriend6

If you’re not familiar with this game, it’s the pigeon dating sim. And while I may not have someone in my life I couldn’t deny myself from getting a pigeon that I could call my own.

Funny enough, I did actually take care of a pigeon during my younger days, so this kind of reminds me of that….that sounded wrong. I don’t mean it like that. I never had feelings for the little guy. Plus, I was a kid and the bird was already fully grown so….

Let’s change the subject.

I pretty much bought the bundle because of this game and thought it would be fun to chronicle my journey from a normal girl to a bird loving one here.

So far, I’ve played about 45 minutes of it. Mind you, there are a lot of minutes where I’m laughing, because…pigeon boyfriends. The heroine of this game is Hiyoko Tosaka, you can put your own name if you’d like. She’s the only human in a school filled with pigeons.

hatoful boyfriend2

Yep. 100% human.

Now, if you’re weirded out by a dating sim where you’re human and your love interests are all pigeons, then that is perfectly normal. I know my mom would probably think that anyone playing this game has a few screws loose, which is why she’ll never know about me playing this.

If you’re curious about the game, then does Hiyoko being human really matter? In the grand scheme of things, it doesn’t. This game is for the lawls and it definitely provides it so that’s all that matters.

hatoful boyfriend

Day One consisted of meeting the birds. You have the same usually cliched harem members, but in pigeon form but seeing as how this started as a parody it makes sense and doesn’t give off a “been there done that” sort of feel.

The Pigeon Bishies include:

Ryouta Kawara, the childhood best friend who also happens to be a rock dove. I’m not too far in the game so all I know is that he has a weak stomach and a sick mom. He’s also willing to cook breakfast for you, so that’s a huge plus in my book!

Kazuaki Nanaki, is a button quail and also the soporific homeroom and maths teacher at your school. He’s smart, but has a funny habit of falling asleep at random times.

Sakuya Le Bel Shirogane, a new transfer student who is incredibly stuck up and arrogant but his feathers are high class. When he first showed up, I did find myself saying, “Damn, that’s some tail you have.” Considering how he’s a fantail pigeon, it makes sense why he looks so fly.

Yuuya Sakazaki, is the half brother of Sakuya, which means he’s also a fantail pigeon.  He’s your upperclassman and has a bit of a reputation for being quite the ladies man.

Nageki Fujishiro, is a quiet mourning dove who you spot at the library. He’s a bit of a loner who loves books more than people, but he seems alright so far.

Out of these five, Nageki seems to be the most interesting. However, Once you hear the final two guys I think you’ll understand why these two are the crème de la crème in this game.

hatoful boyfriend7

Shuu Iwamine, the school nurse who is also a chukar patridge. He has a bit of a bad reputation for being creepy, but I think that’s misunderstood. We first meet him when Hiyoko went to the infirmary to search for Ryouta. She couldn’t find him, but she did find a lot of drugs. As she was eyeing them up, Shuu walks in and says, “I can feed you them if you want.”

I don’t know about you, but that seems like the best thing you can say to someone who is suspiciously in your office when they’re not sick and have their cheeks pressed up against the drug cabinet. Plus, I like the fact that his glasses have red rims. It’s a nice touch.

At this point, I thought to myself, “Mochi, you’re going down the Shuu route!” But that wasn’t until I met the final bishie of the school. If I was being honest, I’d say that he’s the best one and definitely the best looking as well.

hatoful boyfriend8

Okosan is faster than Sonic, better looking that any bishie in the world, and has a fun hobby of stomping on puddings. He’s also a Pokémon fan and has no problem busting out a Wing Attack here and there. Definitely swoom worthy, amirite? Like Sakuya and Yuuya, he’s also a fantail pigeon. I wonder if this means he’s related to them.

There’s still a lot more of the game, but I’m liking it so far. I can already see me replaying this and see all of the endings for the guys.

The only thing I need to decide on is whether I should go with first. Okosan or Shuu?

9 thoughts on “First Semester with Hatoful Boyfriend: Day 1, Meeting the Birdies

      1. ミイちゃん

        No, this a really sad/make you cry thing like clannad. It has a legit/serious plot that makes a lot of sense, even why she’s the only human in school/why the birds are smart….
        I didn’t cry, but like…some parts are really really sad… ;-;

        Reply
        1. mochirochi Post author

          Oh wow. I wasn’t expecting that. I haven’t had time to play it, but my hype levels have gone up with this. A pigeon dating sim being so deep. I never would have thought that.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

