First Look: Taichi (Tai) and Agumon from Digimon Adventure Tri.

The fine folks over at ANN had a picture of Taichi (Tai) and Agumon’s new character design for the new Digimon anime that’s set to come out this spring. The character designs are from Atsuya Uki, who you might remember from Tsuritama.

Check it out:

digimon

While I don’t really mind the character designs, I’m not sure how I feel about it either. I want to say that due to nostalgic reasons, I’d want it to look similar to the original. Then again, considering how the kids are now teenagers they’d need to look different, so I’m not too miffed by this. It’s going to take some getting use to though, because it is a pretty big change, but I’m sure I’ll mange.

A different art direction isn’t enough to make me worried about the new season. I love this series, so as long as it’s coming back I’m happy.

…then again, I said the same thing about Sailor Moon and it’s been a disappointment for awhile now. Hopefully Digimon doesn’t fall into that trap. It has the perk of not being a poorly made remake, so I think being a sequel will help it immensely.

Wow.

Just thinking about Sailor Moon made me nervous about Digimon Adventure Tri now. I’m sure it will be fine though. I’ll be looking forward to seeing how the rest of the characters and their digimons look.

2 thoughts on “First Look: Taichi (Tai) and Agumon from Digimon Adventure Tri.

  1. miharusshi

    I actually like Uki Atsuya’s art. 😀 It appears different and simpler than the most prominent styles out there, but it has its own personality. Plus, it looks like it’s very easy to animate. We might even have some wild animation/sakuga from this. 😉

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      I like his art style too, but the nostalgia side of my heart wants it to also look closer to who it was when I was a kid. It’s okay though. The new character designs is fine, but I got worried after thinking about Sailor Moon so I’m not sure how this new season will be. I’m anticipating it, but I’m also nervous as well.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

