First Impressions: Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata – The lack of butts is troubling

What I was expecting: A beautiful looking haremesque story that would be miles ahead of the other harems this season. I like the idea of the show, so I think I’ll enjoy this.

Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata2

How it really was: So I didn’t watch the prequel, mainly because I heard that it didn’t really have anything to do with the actual series and was just an excuse to have a lot of fan service. I still don’t know if skipping it was the right idea or not, but I guess it doesn’t really matter now….

The skirts on this show are really short, almost to the point that these girls don’t have proper backsides. It’s not something I usually notice, but there were a few scenes when the camera got up close and personal with some of the female characters and my only thought was, “Isn’t that where the butt should be? Where’s her butt?” I suppose by that same token other things should be showing as well, but my mind didn’t go there.

Seriously though, take a look again at the anime and just watch the skirts. Or you can look at this picture and try to see what I’m seeing. Poor girl, sitting in an assembly with a skirt that short…it must be a cold life for a female on this show.

Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata1

Speaking of Saekano, it pretty much was what I was expecting. A slice of life show where all of the girls likes the guy and he remains blissfully unaware and continues being different from everyone else. The female characters here do have a hidden side too, so I suppose that’s a bit different.

While this anime does have some of the same clichéd stereotypes that you’d find in a lot of harems, I never really found myself thinking that this was generic or boring. I don’t really have any strong feelings about the anime at the moment, but I do like the idea of making a dating sim based on a girl that is super forgettable.

Overall: Definitely the better harem of the season, even if the lack of derrières is a bit troubling. Let’s see what the next episode brings!

5 thoughts on “First Impressions: Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata – The lack of butts is troubling

  1. arriacross

    Made me snigger a bit. You have quite keen eyes to notice the lack of butts. Not that I know since I haven’t watched this. Now I’m curious. I have a feeling that I’ll be watching out for the “lack of butts” when I watch this.

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      Maybe they do have butts, it’s just super flat? When it comes to fan service I always tend to pay extra attention to how it’s done. Since I’m female and straight, it doesn’t really do anything for me. So I focus on the breasts and think, ‘If real breasts jiggled like that at every move, then that poor girl must be in pain.’ Or, ‘How is she able to stand properly with breasts that big?’

      Here, they focused on the tights and socks of the girls, so noticing how short they were and how no butts were seen was easier yo detect.

      Reply
      1. arriacross

        Oh gosh. That’s hilarious. Indeed. I think I prefer to watch yaoi & go doki-doki, rather than endure all of those breast-bouncing fan service. Oh well.

        I see. Perhaps they were censored? Hmmm. . . .

        Reply

Leave a Reply

