First Impressions: The iDOLM@STER Cinderella Girls

THE iDOLM@STER CINDERELLA GIRLS (3)

What I was expecting: I’m not too familiar with Idolmaster franchise and to be frank I usually avoid them. Idol shows never really appealed to me, but last year I actually sat down and watched one and absolute loved it. Then again, Wake Up! Girls is a bit different from the Idolmaster series, but it’s because of it that I decided to give this a shot. This is me expanding my horizon and not remaining in my closed view of the anime world. I don’t really have any expectations for Idolmaster Cinderella Girls, but I do hope that I like it.

How it really was: The beginning of the episode made me think of two things. 1. I need to stretch more. And 2, the producer reminded me of a story that Kitagawa Keiko told during a variety show. It was the story of how she got scouted and to make a long story short, the recruiter freaked her out at first and she ran away from him only for the recruiter to chase after her. It’s a good thing that he did, since that jump started her career, but it also made the scenes where the Producer here acted in a awkward manner even funnier to me.

That producer, he might just be my favourite character so far. I don’t know if it’s the awkward stiffness that he oozes out, or how he talks and acts, but you can tell that he’s a good guy. He’s just a bit weird. I like him. I like him a lot. Hopefully, as the Cinderella Girls get bigger, he’ll still be a prominent feature on the show.

For the first time watching an Idolmaster show, I have to say it wasn’t bad. I actually quite liked it. So far, we only know 2.5 girls with this episode focusing more on Run and Uzuki, while Mio showed up at the end for like a second. Once she joins, I’m assuming we’ll met the rest of the Cinderella Girls.

Overall: At this point, I don’t really have any expectations for iDOLM@STER Cinderella Girls, but I found myself enjoying the episode. It’s light, fluffy, and I had a smile on my face by the end of it. Plus, I really like the Producer. He was awesome! Good first episode. I’ll be looking forward to the next one.

6 thoughts on “First Impressions: The iDOLM@STER Cinderella Girls

  1. miharusshi

    That reminds me, I decided to give this a try because it seems to be more SOL-ish than the previous iM@s anime. Or at least, that’s how I felt watching the PV for this.

    And yeah, that producer seems interesting. There seems to be an amusing gap between his appearance and personality.

    Reply
      1. miharusshi

        Nah, I dropped it just a few minutes in. Didn’t like it. It was the first idol anime that I *tried* watching. But I’m kind of interested in trying them out now. Like you, I don’t want to remain close-minded with my anime.

        Reply
        1. mochirochi Post author

          Definitely check out Wake Up! Girls then. I might be bias, but that was the only idol program that actually made me want to watch it. It’s more SOL, but with realistic elements thrown in. Plus the girls look like adults which help.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

