First Impressions: Death Parade

What I expected: A fiendish game that exposes the darker side of human nature.

Death Parade

How it really was: It went pretty much the way I thought it would, but it was still fun to watch.

The episode starts with a newlywed couple heading off to their honeymoon. They don’t know what happened, but the next thing they know they’re at a bar and are forced to play a game where their lives are at stake. If they refuse, then something bad will happen so they don’t really have a choice in the matter.

The game that they play is darts. Each player starts with 500 points and has to use their darts to lower their score with the one closest to zero being the winner. Oh, and each area on the dart board coincides with a body part. If you hit the heart, then your opponent’s heart will get hurt.

The couple try their best to not hit the dart board, but soon unresolved feelings come into play and it gets ugly real fast.

We soon learn the truth behind the games and the players and it’s quite the interesting little twist. Now that we know what’s really going on, I wonder if the following episodes will take us deeper into the lives of the bartenders and their feelings about this.

If you watched Death Billiards, then this episode was more of the same. The only difference is that we find out what happened to the couple in the end and know where they end up.

Overall: A good start to the series. It kind of reminds me of Hell Girl, so I’m hoping that it’s more like season two (which is the season that I liked) and not season one (which is still a good season). I want to see more people freaking out, but I want to know more about the arbiters as well.

2 thoughts on “First Impressions: Death Parade

  1. miharusshi

    Seems like this will be episodic, so… I’m not really if I can keep watching this. Also, I didn’t finish watching Hell Girl *because* it was episodic and nothing really interests me.

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      It took me two tries to watch Hell Girl, but it was only because we got a free trial of Netflix that I was able to finish it. The second season is better, because even though it’s episodic it shows more of the Hell Girl crew and dealt more with the psychological factor of people knowing about the website.

      That’s why I’m hoping this will be more like season two and not season one. I do like the idea, but if it is episodic then I can see it getting stale fairly quickly.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

