First Impressions: Tantei Kageki Milky Holmes TD – Bees make your breasts bigger

What I expected: Cute girls acting like cute detectives.

milky holmes

How it really was: I’m not actually familiar with the series, but this sequel seemed to venture into a different territory compared to the prequels, so I thought it would be okay for me to check it out.

Like Binan, this is a show where you’re meant to sit back and enjoy the ride. It’s not a show with a deep plot, or at least it doesn’t seem like it’s a show with a deep plot. It’s over the top and some parts are funny.

In terms of the show itself, it’s about four detectives who are trying to help a singer get her elements back so she can be a star again. So idols mixed with detectives mixed with comedy, it’s a weird combination, but it’s working so far. Just don’t try to think too much while watching this, or you’ll end up confused. I mean, how do bees give you bigger breasts?

I did laugh at some of the scenes, but the comedy does feel a bit overly silly. I’m not sure if the detectives are meant to be stupid, but they do come across that way. I’ll still probably watch this though, because even though the comedy does seem a bit silly in some parts it’s cute. And funny.

This looks like another show where you don’t have to think too much and just enjoy the ride.

milky holmes2

Overall: One of the characters mentioned something that happened before, but unless you’ve seen the earlier editions you won’t really know what she’s talking about. At least, I think you’d need to watch the earlier seasons. Because of that, I decided to watched a bit of the first season (only two minutes though, because as I’m writing this it’s late and I need to sleep) and wow does it feel like a completely different show. The comedy aspect is still there, but the art style and direction are totally different. It almost feels like a completely different show.

At this time, I don’t know how much you need to know about the Milky Holmes universe in order to enjoy Tantei Kageki Milky Holmes TD, but the episode wasn’t the worse thing ever and it did make me want to watch more of this series. Not only the next episode, but the first season of the show as well. So for a first episode, I guess it did it’s job.

Leave a Reply

