First Impressions: Kantai Collection: KanColle – Poi

What I expected: There’s not really much of a synopsis for this show, other than that it’s a TV adaptation of a card game. The PV made it seem like it was going to have full of action, so I guess that’s what I’m expecting. A very battle oriented action show with good animation and penguins.

kancolle2

How it really was: Surprisingly, not a whole lot of penguins. It only showed up for one scene.

I really love the look of this show when the scenes are washed out. That isn’t to say that it’s bad looking when the bright colours are around, I just think it’s stylized nicer when everything is dulled out during the fight sequences.

Speaking of the battle scenes, they look expensive to make so I don’t know if we’re going to continue getting the same quality of animation for the rest of the season. I hope they do, but 2D on CGI does take a lot of work and there were some moments when it dipped a bit. I do think that it was nice to look at, but it also looks like it took a lot of work. Due to this, I’m not sure if we’ll be seeing a fight every episode.

I’m not too familiar with this series, but for a first episode it has my attention so far. Not a whole lot happened. We were introduced to the main girl, Fubuki, who has no experience fighting on the open seas. She still gets her chance to fight and then wants to get stronger, because she wants to support another fighting named Akagi. School stuff and battles…like I said, not a whole lot happened on the show but I find myself oddly intrigued to see what happens next.

kancolle

Overall: I wasn’t expecting much when I pressed play, but I kind of want to see where this show takes me. For a show that’s based on a battle card game, the animation is pretty good so I think it’s safe to assume that this is a pretty popular series. I’ve never heard of it nor have I played the game, so I’m going into this a bit blind. Not a bad first start though. I think my only worry at this time is the fan service, but so far it seems to be at a minimum so that’s good.

I guess I’ll be continuing to watch this, or at least give it three episodes before deciding whether to continue or not. Hope it surprises me.

Leave a Reply

