First Impressions: Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu Love! – Oden is the Earth!

Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu Love! (2)

What I was expecting: A fun show about mahou bishies and a pink wombat. Pretty much the epitome of awesomeness with a side order of epic that would make me craving for more. Except, I’d have to wait a week for the next episode.

How it really was: Yea, I think I said it all with the previous paragraph. Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu Love! doesn’t really make a whole lot of sense. One day, as two friends are talking about chikawabu at a public bath, a pink wombat appears and starts asking them to teach him about earth’s customs. The wombat wants these guys to save the earth and spread love everywhere. They run away, because an alien appeared. But he eventually finds them at school and equips them, along with three other boys, with bracelets. Using these will help them become Mahou Bishies and save the world.

Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu Love! (1)

Usually in Magical Girl shows, the girls will quickly pick up on their duty and know how to do everything. Not here. Their poses, their taunts, their powers. Everything comes by accident and the boys, save one or two, want nothing to do with it. In fact, after they transform, they want to take their clothes off, but find that they can’t.

I’m not even doing the show justice by explaining it like this. It really is something that you’d need to watch and experience for yourself. It’s odd, but oh so appealing. I especially love that it doesn’t take itself so seriously. The characters know how ridiculous this entire thing is and make mention of it.

I think the only downside that I have is that the guy who became a monster might not be shown again. His cynical personality was funny and I liked how different he looked from everyone. At one point, I thought he might be the main character even though I knew that he wasn’t since he’s not a Mahou Bishi. I do hope he shows up again. I’m curious to find out if he ever gets the white part of his eyes now that he has love in his life again.

Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu Love! (4)

Overall: I enjoyed this way more than I should, but I have a feeling like this will be one of my favourite animes of the season. It’s a comedy about magical bishies and a pink wombat who took control of a (dead?) teacher. As long as I continue laughing I’m all for this show. Hopefully it doesn’t disappoint, but I have a feeling that it won’t.

3 thoughts on “First Impressions: Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu Love! – Oden is the Earth!

Leave a Reply

