Day 21 – Most Overrated Drama

It feels like just yesterday that I started this challenge, but it’s almost over now.

After yesterday’s most underrated drama, it’s only fitting that I mention the most overrated. I mentioned two before, so I’ll mention two here.

The first one is You’re Beautiful.

Funny note, this show was how I discovered Super Junior and it was all because of that scene above. I think You’re Beautiful started off strong and had a really quirky concept. Not only that, but it was funny, the lead girl innocent but cute, the lead male was a likeable jerk and the second lead male was swoon worthy (as long as he wasn’t stalking anyone).

But then, all of a sudden the female lead starts crying and the lead male decides that he needs to join her, because a couple that cries together stays together. If it was a few episodes I wouldn’t mind, but it happens pretty much all the time. Both characters, and the plot, lost it’s special something once the angst came in. Even in the last episode, Hongki’s character decides to cry and I’m left wondering, “Why are you crying? You hardly even hung out with Go Mi Nam and you were hardly on the show too. You have nothing to cry about.”

I know most people mention BOF, but to me You’re Beautiful is more overrated.

 

The second one is Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon.

This is a movie that helped pave the way for a lot of Chinese movies. So for that, I’m grateful to Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. I also think that the fight scenes in this movie were stunning. It’s just that, when you compare it to the other Chinese movies that came out around this time, I find it to be the weakest one.

2 thoughts on “Day 21 – Most Overrated Drama

    1. mochirochi Post author

      There was a time here when it was really popular. So things like Fearless, Hero, House of Flying Daggers, all came out relatively close to one another. My personal favourite is Kung Fu Hustle, but I also like Curse of the Golden Flower. It may have had an icky story line in some parts, but it was gorgeous to look at.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

