Day 20 – Most Underrated Drama

I’m going to pick two for this one as well, but they’re both for very different reasons.

The first is Nihonjin no Shiranai Nihongo.

Nihonjin no Shiranai Nihongo

First off, the show stars Naka Riisa who is awesome. Second, the cast is mostly made up of foreigners and if you’re interested in learning about Japanese and the struggles some gaijin face then this is a fun little drama for it. The acting from the foreigners are forced and a lot of the problems are solved by the end of the episode, but it’s still quite enjoyable. If you’re interested in learning some Japanese and seeing Naka Riisa then check this one out. (psst, the episodes are available on youtube. Just search the title and eng sub and you should be able to find it.)

Ah! That reminds me that she’s in The Girl Who Leapt Through Time which is one of the best anime adaptations. I can’t believe I forgot about that movie!

The second one…is Liar Game (kdrama)

liar game8

Before you say anything, just hear me out. Liar Game was actually widely successful, so why do I have it in underrated? Because some of us who are fans of the original jdrama and the manga series absolutely loathed this adaptation. And while I do agree that it had it’s faults…okay it had a lot of faults, but there were some positives in it. As long as you looked at it through fresh eyes and not get bogged down in details, then it wasn’t that bad of a show. Do Young was fantastic, as long as you ignore everything that happened after the President’s Game. And Woo Jin’s hair at the end of the series was the stuff of legends. It still makes me laugh.

It wasn’t the greatest, but it wasn’t as bad as some fans of the originals thought it was.

6 thoughts on “Day 20 – Most Underrated Drama

  1. miharusshi

    I was about to say that “Liar Game isn’t underrated!”, or at least that’s what the stats in MDL tells me.

    Anyway, I’m interested in that Nihonjin no Shiranai Nihongo.

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      Liar Game was super popular, but most to those who haven’t watched or read the original.

      Let me know what you think of Nihonjin when you get the chance to watch it. It’s not perfect, but I liked it well enough.

      Reply
      1. miharusshi

        I’m watching Boku to Star no 99 Nichi now, which is pretty enjoyable. The main actress is Kim Tae Hee, by the way. Rings a bell? I will put Nihonjin in my next-to-watch slot after I finish 99Nichi. 🙂 Thanks for the recommendation!

        Reply
  2. Steven

    Against the juggernaut of the season that is Misaeng, I agree that Liar Game is underrated (at least in Korea). In fact, I’m still baffled about how a drama about office life is more thoughtful and engaging compared to a drama that supposedly shows the depth of human greed.
    Eh, each to his/her own I guess.

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      Considering how hyped up Liar Game was and how huge of a following it has, it is surprising that it lost out to Misaeng. Even though it’s an office drama it had two thing that Liar Game didn’t have. A coherent plot and characters that made sense and were consistent.

      It could have been a good show, but all it will ever be is wasted potential. 😦

      Reply
  3. Steven

    Well, at least Liar Game didn’t promote itself beforehand like saying ‘we focus more o the manga!’.. *cough*CantabileTomorrow*cough*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

