5-Line Recap: Terra Formars episode 13 – a harlequin moment between Michelle and a Roach

We’re finally at the end of Terra Formars, it was a bumpy ride but hopefully this episode ends on a high note!

Terra Formars (2)

5-Line Recap:

1. The world leaders are calling for a summit to discuss what is happening on Mars.

I kind of love that the President of Japan is a former teammate of Captain Komachi, mainly because he has the most knowledge about the mars mission and it’s incredibly hard to kill him.

2. Marcos apologizes for not keeping Sheila safe.

Now that Alex appeared, he’d obviously be on the lookout for Marcos and Sheila. When he didn’t see her, he flew into the battlefield to where Marcos was and found out that sad news.

Alex punches him, but only because Marcos looked like he wanted to be punched. Even though Marcos joined the mission to protect Sheila, Alex came for a different reason. He came so that he could change his lot in life and get out of his situation back in Mexico.

Terra Formars (3)

3. Jarod uses his echolocation to find the Rainbow beetle roach and Michelle quickly kills him.

I did have a bit of a chuckle during the scene between Michelle and the Cockroach. It looked like they had a moment to themselves, where no one else mattered except the two of them. KInd of like something you’d see on a cover for a romance novel. The way they’re staring so intently into each other’s eyes, the way he’s holding her in a protective way. Kind of like he’s saying, “Baby, I’ll never let you go.” And the way she sprays toxins in his face and he falls over and dies. It almost makes you want to cry, doesn’t it?

4. Joe!!!!

I was worried that they wouldn’t show the magnificent beast that could get any girl pregnant with a single look, but I’m glad that they did. I love this little amazing weirdo….even if he looks kind of weird. It’s too bad that we didn’t get to see the other stuff that he did.

Terra Formars

Oh and it looks like Team Russia has just discovered who betrayed them.

5. Everyone fights…the end.

The credits show us Team China, who should be dead. What are they doing still alive and with all of their members?

Does this mean that we’ll be getting a sequel, or is this a means to tell people to read the manga and see what China will do? I don’t know. I guess it depends on how well this sells. At this time, all I know is that a lot of people have bought the manga, so congrats to Tachibana Kenichi and Sasuga Yu. I’ve mentioned this many times before, but I absolutely love the manga so I’m happy to hear that it’s doing well.

I think this episode was kind of weak though. No, not just weak, it felt lazy and I’ve been watching Shirobako so I feel bad for saying that. I feel like I’m going to go into rant mode (I actually did, but deleted it because no one needs to hear my rants on this episode) so all I’ll say is that it gave me flashbacks to the final portion of Wizard Barristers – Benmashi Cecil. If you’ve read my recaps for the show, then you’d know that this isn’t a good thing in terms of animation.

Terra Formars (1)

The show as getting better too, so I think that’s why I’m feeling a bit disappointed by this episode. The animation was the worse that we’ve seen thus far and the action sequences were not really up to par. Now that I think about it, I didn’t really feel a sense of urgency by the crew members either. We know that there’s a bunch of cockroaches around, but Marcos and Alex still have enough time to have a full conversation without really being interrupted. Considering how the fire was a surprise attack that did seem kind of odd.

I dunno, I think this episode left me feeling a bit ho-hum and not I MUST HAVE A SEQUEL NOW!!! Seeing Team China was awesome though, because it starts to bring in politics and gives the other teams a hard time too. Not only do they have to worry about cockroaches, but a group of humans that they trained with too. The China portion is still going on in the manga, so if they do decide to do a sequel and focus on them, then maybe it will happen once the manga moves on from that arc.

Leave a Reply

