Day 15 – Drama with the Best Cinematography

I’m going to do something a bit different for this question. I’m not going to mention a kdrama, jdrama, or a cdrama. Nor am I going to mention a movie from China, Korea and Japan.

Instead, I’m going to go with a Bollywood movie. Wait, wait! I know what you might be thinking and trust me I understand. I’m not the biggest fan of Bollywood. I’ve seen a few movies here and there, but the over abundance of dancing tends to ruin the flow of the story for me.

I remember this one time I saw my mom watching a more serious Bollywood movie, so I sat down to watch it with her. As I watched it, I started to notice that the movie looked familiar. Really familiar. That’s when it hit me, it was the Bollywood version of Collateral. I quite like the original movie, even with all of its plot holes. So I watched the movie and it was censored since it was on TV. One moment someone was alive, the next they were dead. That didn’t bother me so much. What bothered me was that this was a serious movie and it still had numerous dance numbers sprinkled through it.

…I got so annoyed that I didn’t watch many Bollywood films after that.

But then I saw my mom watching another serious movie. This time it was Amitabh Bachchan’s Nishabd, which is the movie I’m choosing for this day.

nishabd

The movie is about Amitabh Bachchan’s character falling in love with his daughter’s friend, played by the late Jiah Khan. Things happen…I’m not really sure what since I never finished the movie, but I really enjoyed the way it was shot. Unlike most Bollywood movies that I’ve watched that is usually filled with colour and life. Nishabd is shot in almost a lonely manner, which makes sense since it’s a movie about an older man in a midlife crisis and is willing to destroy his life for a younger free spirited woman. Lots of blues hues and instead of straight shots, we got longs of angles here and there. It’s a really beautiful film to look at, even if the story isn’t all that amazing.

4 thoughts on “Day 15 – Drama with the Best Cinematography

  1. snow

    Nishabd is inspired by American Beauty….I haven’t seen it though…it was a big flop here and I’m not a fan of the director.

    I can understand that non-Indians can find all the dance and songs weird but that is what makes Bollywood so special! And it has been a very old form of films here and we are totally used to it and love it…haha…

    There are SO MANY awesome Bollywood films but I think people don’t know about them..

    Cinematography is one of the most beautiful features of Indian films…especially in songs…

    Reply
    1. Zazie

      I don’t find the songs weird – I can do without the item numbers honestly and some cheesy dancing -, I love Indian songs, it’s just that some of them are ill-incorporated, plagiarized, or really bad songs. (example of my concept of a beautiful song well-used : Dil toh baccha hai ji in “Ishqiya”, a song that delivers the thoughts of the character without a need of a sudden choreography)

      But I guess after sometime we get used to it…I remember hating Indians movies until I discovered “Dil Chahta Hai”. From that day on, I learned who and what to watch.

      Reply
    2. mochirochi Post author

      I don’t know if weird is the right word. There are some Bollywood films where I don’t mind the dancing and singing, but when it’s a serious story I find it out of place.

      My mom loves it though, so I’ll keep seeing them regardless. One of these days I’ll get use to it and start appreciating it more.

      Nishabd isn’t a good movie, but it was nice to look at.

      Reply
  2. Zazie

    The two bollywood movies I saw this year were “Talaash: The answer lies within” and “Hasee Toh Phasee”. I liked the former, “Hasee” was a nice watch, I’m not gonna lie.

    I love “American Beauty”, so I’m curious how the Indian version worked out. Maybe I’ll give it a shot someday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

