First Impressions: Valid Love (kdrama)

valid love
Taking over the Liar Game slot on tvN, Valid Love premiered this week and after reading a few things before the show started I already had some mixed feelings about the drama. Here’s the synopsis:

“Hee-Tae (Uhm Tae-Woong) met his future wife, Il-Ri (Lee Si-Young), when he worked as a temporary biology teacher at an all girls high school. Il-Ri was a student there.

Now, Hee-Tae works as a fishery researcher and spends his days in a typical marriage. One day, he learns that his wife is having an affair with a carpenter (Lee Soo-Hyuk). He becomes angry for the first time, but decides to keep his family and wife.”

According to The Drama Corner, Il Ri loves both men and her husband tries to prove to her that her relationship with the carpenter isn’t a valid love.

After reading the synopsis and then reading the post at The Drama corner my initial impression of the show was already skewed. I’m not a real big fan of cheating characters, unless they’re written in a way that doesn’t condone their behaviour, but also doesn’t make it their defining characteristic. And I can’t stand characters who cheat and then can’t decide which person they want to be with.

So I went into this getting ready to hate on Il Ri and sympathize with Hee Tae. The first episode didn’t make me feel any of those feelings though, mainly because we got to see how Il Ri and Hee Tae met, back when she was a high school student and he was a substitute teacher.

The story is completely unethical, but it’s also really sweet. Il Ri is a quirky character that contrasts well with Hee Tae’s goofy one. Even though he’s the adult, he can’t help but get roped in by her. It does help that she knows about his laser circumcision surgery and met him at the hospital where he got it done. If that doesn’t scream a true love story, I don’t know what does.

Just think about the conversations they could have with their kids.

Kid: Daddy, Mommy, when did you guys meet?
Dad: It’s a funny story, I just had surgery done to snip off my foreskin and then I ran into your mom in the elevator.
Mom: When we were outside, I accidentally pushed him causing him to scream out in pain. I felt bad, so we ended up eating together and the rest, well, the rest is history. Minus the whole cheating thing, but no one’s perfect!

If it wasn’t in a kdrama, I might think Shakespeare wrote up this scenario. I

After watching the first episode, I quite like Il Ri. She’s such a fun character and you can tell that Lee Si Young is having a blast playing her. But this also makes me sad, because I’m going to be hating her real soon. I really hope the show doesn’t try to justify the cheating by making her personality diminish while being married to Hee Tae.

For a first episode, this was pretty good. I’m just nervous at what’s to come once the cheating takes place.

3 thoughts on “First Impressions: Valid Love (kdrama)

  1. ponytaorponyboy

    hmmm… I WAS wondering what was going to replace Liar Game… but… I dunno… cheating… in a relationship… I’m sort of… ah… *doesn’t know what to say* I don’t think I’ll pick this one up… let me know how the rest of the series goes? 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: VALID LOVE. TVN. | IKurate

  3. Mbebzz

    Huahahahaha… LOL “About the conversations they could have with their kids”

    *How Sweet if they have Cute Baby :* :*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

