Day 1 – Very First Drama/Movie

The year is almost done, so I thought I should do one more challenge before the year end. Welcome to the first post to the 30 Day Drama Challenge. To be honest, I think this will actually be a lot harder than the 30 Day Anime Challenge, only because I have less options to choose from. This could be a good thing though, because it will be easier to pick a drama for the category provided, but I don’t think it will be that easy.

Today’s question is, “What is the very first drama that you watched?”

I want to say it’s probably a Jackie Chan movie, or the Road Home or Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, but for some reason I don’t think it’s either of them.

Why Me Sweetie

For some reason, I feel like “Why Me Sweetie?!” was the first Asian drama/movie that I ever watched. I’m probably wrong, but this is the only one that pops into my head and keeps telling me to place it here as my first show/movie. WHy Me Sweetie?! is a Hong Kong film that inspired the Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore’s 50 first dates. In this one, the main guy, Dong, forgets everything once he falls in love. His girlfriend, Ding Ding, is determined to make him always remember her by disguising herself as a new girl each time he forgets.

Back in the stone age when I didn’t have cable, because my parents wanted me to focus on my studies and not on TV, we only had a few channels. Saturday nights should have been time for some exciting TV, but other than Hockey Night in Canada there wasn’t really anything exciting to watching. One day, as I was flipping the channels, I came across OMNI as it was playing this movie. I just remember watching a bit, laughing, then call over everyone as we watched it together. It’s not the greatest movie out there and you can’t take it seriously, but it was fun.

Hello! Miss

In terms of actual drama series, then the first one would be Hello, My Lady! (also called Hello! Miss). At some point in time, my family had KBS World show up in our channel listings and played this show. My mom and I got hooked; but sadly, I don’t really remember anything about the show. The only thing I recall is one scene where the main character goes into a sauna and is shocked that it’s a mixed one. She freaks out and closes her eyes for the majority of the time she’s there. My mom and I laughed quite a bit while watching that scene.

6 thoughts on “Day 1 – Very First Drama/Movie

  1. Zoeydo

    I found your post regarding 30 day drama challenge today and i really like the idea! Would be really nice to participate if you are doing it again!
    My very first drama that brought me to the amazing world of drama’s (specifically k-drama) is Coffee Prince. And my very first korean movie was A Millionaire’s First Love.

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      If you have a blog, feel free to try out the challenge! If not, then each day you can share your thoughts here. I probably won’t be doing this again anytime soon, because my drama knowledge is too small lol.

      I struggled with this, because I didn’t want to repeat anything.

      Reply
  2. Faith

    Hi! You have a really nice anime/drama blog here! I love your 30 day drama challenge and I’m going to try it out on my blog! Such a cool idea. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

