5 Mangas That Need An Anime Adaptation part 1

It’s official, Koe no Katachi will be getting an anime adaption. I’m super stoked by this, because the story is fantastic, the characters are flawed but real human beings, and the feels that it brings forth. I’ll definitely have my tissues handy while watching it. Oooh! I can’t wait!

So in honour of the news, here’s five mangas that need an anime adaption done. I was trying to figure out if I should do a theme for this list, because there’s way too many mangas that need adaptions. Should I do a Shounen List, a Shoujo one? A list of mangas that are ongoing, or a list of mangas that have ended already and/or were cancelled?

I couldn’t decide, so I’m going with the first 5 mangas that pop into my head.

1. I Am a Hero

I am a Hero

This was the first one that I thought of, but I don’t know if it will ever happen. If you thought the first few episodes of Tokyo Ghoul and Terra Formars was bad when it came to censoring, then you’d pretty much get an entire episode of black because of I Am a Hero.

It would still be fantastic though. The manga is about a zombie outbreak. Hideo isn’t someone that you’d think of as a hero. He’s older, chubby, his work isn’t going anywhere, he’s a bit socially awkward, and is a stickler for rules when it comes to guns. There’s a zombie running towards you, but he’s still needs to uphold the gun rules.

This might mean that he’s a weak MC, but he isn’t. He still maintains his humanity, even after witnessing a bunch of horrible things. He isn’t someone who would back down though or tremble with fear. We see this with the first zombie that he ends up killing. His girlfriend.

2. 7Seeds

7Seeds

This is actually my favourite mangas that are targeted towards females. The story is about a group of kids who wake up in a post apocalyptic earth. A meteor was coming down, so scientists frozen a bunch of teenagers so that they could survive. There are five teams in total with each one consisting of seven members, including one guide.

What I love about this story are the characters. Not all of them are likeable, but they’re all relatable in their own unique way. I also love that Team Summer B, which was a group of reject misfits that no one really saw surviving, ended up not only having all of their original members stay alive, but they also stayed as a group.

Don’t let the picture fool you into thinking that this is a superficial look into a post apocalyptic world. It’s simply fantastic.

3. Wagatsuma-san wa Ore no Yome

Wagatsuma-san wa Ore no Yome

This is a series that ended way too early. It wasn’t cancelled and it was doing great in the ratings, but the mangaka couldn’t keep doing this and keep their day job. At least their other manga is still ongoing, so I’m happy for that…..I’m going to go into a depressive rant soon, so I’m just going to mention why I picked this and then move on.

Wagatsuma-san wa Ore no Yome is something that I avoided for awhile. For some reason, I thought the idea of a guy going time slipping into the future and finding out that he married the most popular girl in school to be kind of…meh. Plus, this reminded me of Happy Project, so I was afraid that I’d end up being disappointed with the execution.

I finally did read it and it became one of my favourites. Aoshima finds himself in the future and he’s married to Wagatsuma. Once that happens, he does everything in his power to make sure that future is a reality. But the manga is about much more than that. We also get a look into his friends and see Aoshima help others. It’s a really charming story…I just wish it lasted longer……

4. Sakamoto Desu ga?

Sakamoto

If you looked up Magnficent Beast in the dictionary, you’d find a picture of Sakamoto-kun. If you found a book that is titled, “How to be the best you that you can be?” You’d find that all the steps would say, “Be like Sakamoto-kun.” If a President wanted to know how to win the people’s hearts and mind, they’d hire Sakamoto-kun to help them out. Only, they’d then lose their position as it would go to the rightful heir. Sakamoto-kun.

Sakamoto is a school boy that all the girls want and all the boys want to be like. He pretty much wins in life. Usually, this would mean he would be a huge Gary Stu, which would be annoying and definitely not someone you’d want to read about, but Sakomoto is anything but boring.

The confidence that he oozes out made me an instant fan. I can’t stop laughing when I read what he does. The chapter about him coming to school right on time always has be down for the count. I laugh, but I also admire him and want to be like him.

5. Trace

Trace

This is a bit of a cheat, because it’s not a manga, it’s a webtoon/manhwa from Korea. This was actually my first look into Korean comics and I’ve been reading them ever since.The first story has three main stories in it. I won’t spoil anything, but the characters do have supernatural abilities and are the only ones who can defeat a creature called Troubles.

In the sequels to come, the truth about Troubles and the organization that recruits these supernatural inclined people is revealed.

 

I just thought of a bunch of other ones that I want to name, but won’t. At least not for this post. There are so many amazing mangas out there, so it’s hard to choose just five. Even now I want to add another one and then another and then a baker’s dozen. Maybe I’ll do a theme next time. It might make it easier for me to choose then.

Is there a manga that you’d like to see an adaption of? If so, let me know! Even if it doesn’t get an anime, I’ll be able to get some great manga recommendations. 😀

Once again, congrats to Koe no Katachi for getting an anime! I’ll be on the look out to read the mangaka’s next work and I’m sure it will be just as amazing!

 

5 thoughts on “5 Mangas That Need An Anime Adaptation part 1

  1. miharusshi

    Koe no Katachi anime is really the best news I’ve heard lately! I’m so happy right now!!!!

    Anyway, how do you decide which manga deserve getting anime adaptation? How would one know which manga is good enough for an anime? Would one base it on how the story would look as an anime? Or would one simply base it on personal preference, that some stories on those prints should get more recognition because they’re amazing, and that anime is simply the best way to get everyone’s attention to the source material?

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      I’m not too sure to be honest. There’s some mangas that I think would be great on the tv screen, but some that are great but would lose their charm once adapted. I absolutely loved the Beelzebub manga, but the anime was horrid. A lot of the jokes didn’t translate well and some of the others never happened. There’s also ones like Pupa which actually has an interesting story in the manga, but was completely ruined by the anime.

      But then you get things like JoJo, which is just asking for it. I love the manga, but the anime is so much better. At least in my opinion.

      As for what deserves an adaptation, I don’t really think too hard about it. If I like the manga, then I’m usually fine with it being animated. I don’t know if there are any I’ve ever said, “You know, this is great and everything but I don’t ever want to see it animated.” As long as I like it, I’d want to see it on my computer screen. Whether it will be good or not, I don’t really worry about that until the first episode airs. Then I’d start questioning whether it was actually deserving of an adaption or not.

      I feel like I’m rambling now, so I’m not sure if I’ve answered your questions or not.

      Reply
      1. miharusshi

        Thank you for answering my question!

        There are times I don’t want certain manga to get TV adaptation, though. Most of them are shoujo manga, since I felt that some which had TV anime lost their charm, as you said would happen for some manga. One recent example for this is Aoharaido. I like the manga, but the anime just didn’t sit well with me. I don’t know why exactly, but I’m currently pinning it down to Kaji Yuki’s voice acting. (that’s more of a personal reason, though). Oh, and another is Akame ga Kill! The manga was fantastic, but ‘reading it again’ through the anime wasn’t as entertaining as my experience with the manga. I think it started a bit too slow, then suddenly got fast-paced. And I realized how boring the fight scenes are in the anime. It’s either that or the execution of those scenes was just poor. I guess it’s the staff that I have a problem with.

        Reply
        1. mochirochi Post author

          I’ve read both of those mangas mentioned and was afraid of watching the shows since it’s a bit hit or miss with people. I imagine Akame is also heavily censored too.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

