Day 31 – Popular Animes that You Didn’t Like or Care For

What’s this? Another day of the challenge? But I thought it only had 30 days?

It did, but I’m adding an extra one just for fun.

There’s always an anime that you’ve watched and notice something weird. Everyone is raving about it. Everyone is loving it. But you’re sitting there wondering why. That is what I’m tackling today. Even though I didn’t like these animes, I’m not against giving them another shot.

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya

Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu (The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya)

I know that this show has a massive fan base. And it’s due to these fans that I decided to watch the show. Unfortunately, I never finished it because I got bored. Even though this has an interesting premise and a supernatural twist, this does seem like something you’ve seen before. The characters are ones you’d find anywhere and even though Haruhi seems fun, I started to wonder how Kyon allowed himself to be taken advantage of.

lelouch

Code Geass

Someone recommended Code Geass to anyone who liked Death Note. As a fan of Death Note (mostly the first half and not the second) I was excited to watch this and find another physiological thriller. Plus, the fans were saying that in terms of mind games and intelligence Light and Lelouch were similar. With these things in mind I watched Code Geass. Then I dropped it at episode 13. I did’t find it all that thrilling and felt like Lelouch was a poor man’s Light. He wasn’t smart, he was simply someone who benefited from circumstance. More than that, he seemed like a little kid playing a big man’s game. I did hear that the second half was a lot better and crazier, but it’s hard getting back to it.

flcl
FLCL (Fooly Cooly)

I watched this when I was a lot younger and I remember thinking that this was one of the most annoying shows that I’ve ever watched. It is meant to be confusing, but I didn’t understand why. I got the story, at least I think I did, but I just didn’t like it. Maybe I’ll try this watch this again now that I’m older and wiser, but if I do I hope it aged well.

Suki-tte Ii na yo

Suki-tte Ii na yo

This is a popular shoujo, but I don’t understand how. I watched this until episode four and found myself disgusted by the male MC that I dropped this. He tried to be a nice guy and in his effort to do so he became shady. He’s meant to be perfect, but it seemed unnatural. Plus, he had sex with a girl who clearly was going through things because he thought that was what she wanted. Instead of being there for her, like a friend, he just does whatever she says even though he knows that this isn’t necessarily what she wants.

 

Notable Mentions:

Serial Experimental Lain – this is another show I watched when I was younger and couldn’t get into it at all. I didn’t hate it though, I just didn’t understand it and got confused.

Clannad ~After Story~ – I actually liked Clannad and was excited to watch the second season. I liked the first two episodes, but then we got to the arc about Sunohara and I rage quit after episode four. Some will say that this arc was an emotionally driven one, but I feel like the show really did a number on Sunohara. I hate his sister. In the first season she didn’t want anything to do with Sunohara and all of a sudden she’s all up in his business. When he doesn’t react the way she wants, she gets angsty and sticks her nose into things that she had no business going to. I also hated how during the fight between Sunohara and Tomoya. Tomoya ended up getting the last punch. I get that he’s the main character, but why was this needed? I feel like the show made Sunohara into a punching bag and so I felt horrible for him in this arc and ended up hating everyone else. Everyone lied to him and got angry with him for no reason. Instead of talking to him, they played with him. Even now, just thinking about the arc is getting me frustrated. I know that this is a really great season though and it’s loved by a lot of people, so eventually I’ll have to get over it and finish it. It’s just that episode 3-4 really, really, REALLY annoyed me.

Tasogare Otome x Amnesia – I was actually pretty hyped for the anime, because I’ve read the manga (or at least some of it). In the end, it didn’t really work for me. I’m not even sure if I can’t explain it properly. Something just felt off about the anime adaptation and I was never able to get into it.

 

I might just try to watch these shows and make it into a weekly thing.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Day 31 – Popular Animes that You Didn’t Like or Care For

  1. miharusshi

    On Haruhi: This was one of my first series, and that means I pretty much enjoyed everything I watched, including this.
    On Code Geass: Lelouch might not be very intelligent, but he was witty in the sense that he was adaptive to the situations he’s in… but there were times he was also immature just because his plans didn’t go well. And I don’t really find CG and Death Note very similar.
    On FLCL: I didn’t like it as well, ’cause it was too confusing. Like things just happened here and there without making any sense.
    On Say I Love You: I read the manga before the anime came out. Kurosawa is not the ideal guy for a girl like Mei (who has surely matured throughout the series; in the manga it was more apparent), but it was kind of refreshing to see that kind of male MC. I sometimes think that the manga doesn’t fit in the shoujo tag. It’s something that can be josei.
    On CLANNAD AS: I felt bad for Sunohara, too. I don’t really like Tomoya as MC, and he gets on my nerves every time I recall how he dealt with Sunohara being shy to his own sister. While playing the VN, I really appreciated Sunohara even more. He’s a poor guy for always getting abused by Tomoya, whom he considers his best friend. But then again, they have this special bond that normal people can’t relate with. You might reconsider watching the series with Episodes 5 and 6 (another arc).

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      I think I went into Code Geass for the wrong reasons. Everyone kept telling me that it’s like Death Note and Lelouch is like Light, so I was expecting a similar story and was disappointed when it wasn’t. I agree that he’s able to adapt to his situations so I might give it a try down the road.

      I’m guessing the manga is much better than the anime for Say I love you?

      I’ve heard that Clannad AS makes a lot of people cry and it was used a lot for the saddest scene or shocking scene in the anime challenge. I just need to get over what happened and try again. It’s just hard 😦

      Reply
      1. miharusshi

        Yay for thinking of giving Code Geass a second chance~

        Hmm, I guess you can put it that way. I tend to not like shoujo manga [that I’ve read] anime adaptations. It’s because some of the atmosphere in the manga kind of gets lost when it’s told in anime. The latest to addition would be Aoharaido. That’s just my personal opinion, though. While many people talk about most of the shoujo anime, I just sit here and hope for something better to show up on my feeds.

        I only remember crying twice in the whole series. The first one was at the ending of the arc I just suggested you to restart with. The second and last one was that famous sad scene. Ugh. With the anime (and that particular scene) being centered on family and all, I just couldn’t help it but let my tears fall. T_T Though aside from those tear-jerker scenes, Clannad AS has a lot more of those emotionally manipulative drama, one of which is the Sunohara siblings story. Sunohara >> Tomoya

        I honestly think that Clannad AS is a tad bit overrated, though. Just a warning: You might not like the ending (or how the series wrapped things up, considering the feels train the writers forced their viewers into) at all (I’m basing this on your ‘anime that should’ve continued’ anime challenge post). And I personally didn’t like it. It ruined my whole experience. But since I was quite attached to most of the series, I couldn’t really give it the score I think it deserves (about 7~8; I gave it a 9 on MAL).

        Reply
  2. nikki

    I haven’t yet watched FLCL, Say I love you…and also haven’t finished Code Geass. However, I have watched the other ones, and except for the Tasogare Otome x Amnesia, I enjoyed all the others a lot. A LOT 😀 The Dusk Maiden of Amnesia (if I remember well this was the English title) didn’t really ‘amaze’ me. I can’t say I didn’t like it; I just wasn’t impressed *shrug*

    Reply
  3. Pingback: -RE-Redoing The 30 Day Anime Challenge- – (Challenges)- -Mark’s Blog- | -Mark's Blog- Anime/Manga/ETC-

Leave a Reply

