Day 24 – Moment that Shocked You the Most in Any Anime

This question ventures onto spoiler territory. I’ll try to remain as diligent as possible and not reveal major ones, but it will be hard. Here are three animes with shocking moments…

Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica

When I first heard about Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica, I only knew that it was about magical girls and had psychological as a genre. Unlike others, I went into it completely blind and I think doing that made me appreciate the experience all that much more.

So when the reveal surrounding the witches and Kyubey’s intentions came out, I was blown away. And when we learned the truth about Homura, we see the multiple time lines, and even more craziness happens. I think what surprised me the most about this show was how dark it was. I knew it had psychological as one of its genres, but a lot of animes/books have it but it doesn’t really mean anything. Not here. Here it meant a whole lot and I was thankful for that.

This feeling remained when the third movie, Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica Movie 3: Hangyaku no Monogatari, came out. Unlike the show and the first two movies, Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica Movie 3: Hangyaku no Monogatari was all about my second favourite character on the show. Homura. My number one favourite is Kyubey, but Homura is a very close second. I was especially excited for this, because I genuinely like Homura, as a character. And after everything that happened on the show and the first two movies, I needed her to have a happy ending. I’ll try not to spoil anything, but that ending….I wasn’t expecting that at all.

Then again, neither were a lot of people, because the original one was changed for the movie. Knowing this, it does make me want to read the manga and see what actually happened in the end. I know there are some who don’t like the ending and hate the fact that it was changed, but since that’s the only one I know I loved it. It made sense when you think of it, even though I know a lot of people won’t agree with me.

samurai flamenco

Another shocking moment is from Samurai Flamenco. 

I’ll be the first to say it, but this show is weird. I love it, but it keeps changing the game every few episodes. Once you get use to it, the story adds everything from aliens, to crime fighting idols (who I hated by the way), to power ranger like team members, to a villain that no one but the main character can see. In a way, I was shocked by how many times Samurai Flamenco changed it’s genre and plot. But the thing that was most shocking was when we find out the truth about Gotou-san and his girlfriend. I really liked how the show handled it and didn’t shove it aside. We had a realistic ending involving the two, instead of a cookie cutter happy ending.

Actually the most shocking thing is when ______ gets naked and proposes to ______. It’s not as bad as it sounds, but I remember going, “Wait…what?”

blood_c

The last anime I will talk about is Blood-C. This is an anime that frustrated a lot of people, and for good reason. If you are in any way familiar with Blood+, then you’d know that Saya is a pretty hardcore person. She’s vulnerable, but strong. She’s courageous, but wary. She’s an amazing protagonist, especially when it comes to female characters.

But Saya in Blood-C is none of those things. Instead, for the majority of its 12 episode run, Saya is in a slice of life anime where she goes to school, meets with her friends, finds herself in a love triangle, and occasional kills a man eating monster or two. As the episodes continue to go on, you notice that there’s only a few more episodes left and the story hasn’t changed at all.

Then, when you’re about to lose all hope about this remake, everything changes with the final two episodes. I was shocked, because the payoff was worth it, but it also took 11 episodes for something to actually happen. That’s a long time to wait. I remember watching the show and wondering if I should just quit. I almost did after watching scene after scene of Saya just singing as she walked to school.

This isn’t the Saya I know and love. This isn’t Saya at all. And why is she even singing? The first time I saw this, I almost rage quit. The second time, I was wondering why I was watching this garbage. The third time I muted the sound while she sang.

Thankfully the ending did change my opinion. I still don’t like Saya here or in the movie, but the ending of this anime did leave me shocked.

So there you have it. Three animes with a few shocking moments in them. I apologize for the TL;DR post. I didn’t expect it to get this long.

One thought on “Day 24 – Moment that Shocked You the Most in Any Anime

  1. Pingback: -RE-Redoing The 30 Day Anime Challenge- – (Challenges)- -Mark’s Blog- | -Mark's Blog- Anime/Manga/ETC-

Leave a Reply

