Gugure! Kokkuri-san ep 4

Gugure! Kokkuri-san - Tanuki & Kohina

Last week, Kohina ended up summoning another weirdo to add to her growing ‘harem’ of haunting spirits. Unlike Kokkuri-san and Inugami, who seem to have a stalking/lolicon problem when it comes to Kohina, the Tanuki is simply a deadbeat mooch who refuses to leave.

Not all deadbeats are bad, as long as they try not to be deadbeats, but Tanuki-san seems to be content in doing what he does best. Tricking humans and making their lives miserable. Unfortunately for Kohina, he tricks her not only once by offering her some money in exchange for his residency in her home.

Gugure! Kokkuri-san - Kohina

Which, to be fair he only tricked her because he has no money….mainly because he uses it for gambling and alcohol, but he does apologize to her by giving her a ramen bowl. Granted, he did this because Kohina was sulking for three days and Kokkuri-san told him to apologize, but at least he did. Unfortunately, that also ends up being just a dead leaf.

Gugure! Kokkuri-san - Kohina

At this point, his stock with Kohina isn’t the greatest. So she wonders if she saw him as an animal, would her view of him change? It did, only it got worse because he’s a pretty creepy looking animal. Luckily Kokkuri-san is there to save Kohina from him. Which lead to a really funny exchange between the two after Tanuki-san asked Kokkuri-san for some money.

Gugure! Kokkuri-san - Kokkuri & Tanuki
Kokkuri-san – “I don’t have any money to lend to a damn NEET with no income.”
Tanuki-san – “Hey, watch your mouth. Is everyone who’s unemployed a NEET? Guys who can’t work even if they want to are not NEETs!”
Kokkuri-san – “You… want to work?”
Tanuki-san – “What? Of course not. What are you talking about?”

That went straight to the heart for me and made me love him. Who loves working? Not me. If I could live a life where I could enjoy my time doing what I want and not have to work, I’d be an even happier person. Unfortunately, we live in a society where you have to work and go to school in order to be respected.

Needless to say, the addition of Tanuki-san is a great one and I loved every moment he was on my screen. Fortunately for us, his introduction lasts for only half of the episode.

The rest of the episode involves Kohina and her school. Kokkuri-san decides to stalk be a good guardian and watch how Kohina is at school. As we know, Kohina doesn’t really have any friends. Instead, she has some girls who try to bully her by making fun of her doll behaviour, but Kohina puts a stop to that by telling them, “Shall I turn you into socially-disconnected dolls?”

Gugure! Kokkuri-san - Kohina & her bullies

Atta girl!

We also get to meet an interesting classmate of Kohina named Yamamoto. Yamamoto is an Earthling, only he clearly isn’t. According to Kohina, “Everyone likes Yamamoto-kun because he’s so nice. The other day, when I tripped in the hallway, he reached out to me…

Gugure! Kokkuri-san - Yamamoto & Kohina

…Then he left without helping me up.”

I died. It’s such an obvious joke, but I laughed at this and all the other ET references. Even at the end, when we learn that he’s talking by the black suits and isn’t seen for the next month. It’s horrible, but I love it.

This show, pure brilliance. It isn’t high-class humour, but it’s enough to keep me thoroughly entertained. Kohina is such a cutie too. Each time she’s on the screen, I understand why the others haunt her or stalk her. Not that I would! That would never happen. I simply understand why they would….

*cough*

Looks like we’ll be meeting another spirit in the next episode. This time a girl, no not Inugami who was surprisingly quiet in this episode, but another girl who goes to Kohina’s school. I can’t wait! Hopefully she’s just as weird as everyone introduced so far.

3 thoughts on “Gugure! Kokkuri-san ep 4

  1. oigakkosan

    I’m hyper critical of everything — and short tempered as a viewer — and I have to say our current spirit really pushed my buttons. Totally subjective, but I don’t get any pleasure out of jerk characters, and I worry that each new spirit will be jerkier and jerkier than the last …

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      I might have agreed with you, until the tanuki mentioned his views on working. I can’t hate someone who feels that way. I should though, but can’t. I don’t know if he’ll play a major role in the show though. Inugami was pushed to the sidelines for most of this episode, so the same thing might happen here.

      I think the next spirit is the cat girl who seems to also be stalking Kohina. Not sure if she likes her or hates her though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

