Day 20 – Anime Character that Gets on Your Nerves

While  thinking about this, my answer completely changed. Originally, I was going to use Makoto from School Days. If you haven’t watched School Days, then the only non spoiler thing I can tell you is that it’s about a harem gone wrong. Horribly, horribly wrong. Makoto starts off well enough, but then he starts thinking with his lower region and has sex with anything that moves. Normally, I’d stay away from animes like this because they never interest me. But one of my siblings heard about the controversy surrounding the final episode of the series. He watched it, then told me it was crazy!

I decided to watch it for that. I didn’t like the anime very much and had to fast forward a few scenes because I don’t like watching cartoon characters having sex, but the ending was somewhat satisfying. When I talked to him later on about it, he told me he only watched the final episode and had no idea what it was about.

And that was the last time I ever listened to my brother’s recommendations. However, it is due to the final episode that I can’t pick Makoto for the anime character that gets on my nerves. While it is true he got on my nerves, like everyone else in the manga, he went out in a way that I was happy with so it kind of cancels each other out.

Then I remembered someone I dislike more than Makoto.

Sasuke Uchiha

Uchiha Sasuke from Naruto

I never really liked him to begin with. He acted like he was the only victim of circumstance, when there are others who suffered as well. I know it’s horrible to have your entire family killed by your brother. I know that it would make you hate your brother and want to kill him. That’s fine. But once Itachi dies, Sasuke doesn’t use this death to reevaluate his life or maybe have a moment of self reflection where he realizes that revenge doesn’t heal past wounds, it just makes you feel even more hollow. No, instead Sasuke transfers all of his hatred to Konoha. He then continues to transfer his hatred into other things instead of working out his problems.

Hate doesn’t solve anything, but yet he continues to hate because he knows nothing else. Those that wish to help him, he tries to kill. I know this is about the anime character, but just thinking about how he is in the manga right now is getting me even more annoyed.

From a psychological standpoint, Sasuke’s mindset makes perfect sense. But that doesn’t mean that he’s not stupid. He is. He’s a huge idiot. And that too is fine, because I can like stupid characters. It’s just that he’s the only one to remain stuck in the past and he hasn’t grown at all. He’s still the same little kid dealing with his issues in a completely unhealthy and stupid way.

The only time I like him is in Naruto SD.

One thought on “Day 20 – Anime Character that Gets on Your Nerves

  1. Pingback: -RE-Redoing The 30 Day Anime Challenge- – (Challenges)- -Mark’s Blog- | -Mark's Blog- Anime/Manga/ETC-

Leave a Reply

