Fall Anime thoughts part 1

It’s been about two-three episodes so far for the 2014 fall anime season and after watching a few of them here are my thoughts thus far for some of the animes.

As for recaps, you’ll probably notice I haven’t done a lot of them so far. My rule is that I give animes 3 episodes before deciding whether I want to continue recapping them. This is only because I don’t want to start something and then stop because I got bored or hated the show. I want to continue on till the bitter end. Recaps should start popping up a lot more now though.

In any case, here is my Fall Anime Thoughts – Part One

 

  • Terra Formars

Four episodes have come and gone and while I won’t complain about the censorship, because it is expected even if it’s annoying, I still have an issue with the adaptation. It did seem like it was going in the right direction with episode four though, so hopefully the remaining episodes follow this trend and get increasingly better

Verdict: I’ve already started the recaps for this, so I’ll be watching it till the end. Not so much because of the anime, but because I’m a huge fan of the manga and want to see this do well.

 

  • Denki-gai no Honya-san

I thought the first episode was alright, I didn’t like the second and the third was back to okay. I think my problem with this show is that it’s very hit or miss with me. There are parts that I like, but many more that I don’t. There’s also a lot of romance here, especially the last two episodes with the pairings. Not that I mind, but I thought it was just a slice of life anime about people who work at a manga shop. Kind of like Working! but for an Otaku crowd, only it isn’t. I dunno. I keep expecting one thing and getting something completely different.

Verdict: I want to like this, especially since I like the Director and his trollish ways, but it’s not doing anything for me. I’ll give it another episode before I decide whether to continue this or not. I do have a feeling like I’ll drop it though. I’m in the minority about my views on this though.

 

  • Orenchi no Furo Jijo

Since it’s only a four minute anime, it’s no surprise that they’ve cut a lot of stuff from the manga. Unlike Terra Formars where I felt annoyed by this, I don’t mind it here because the basic story still remains. It’s cute, lighthearted, and fun.

  • Danna ga Nani wo Itteiru ka Wakaranai Ken

It does make me laugh, but a lot of the references go over my head.

Verdict: Seeing as how Orenchi and Danna are both short animes, I think I’ll stick with it till the end. Might do a recap on this, but the two would be together. Kind of like a Bite-Sized Recap or something. I need to think of a better name for it. Chibi Recaps? 4minute recaps? Bubble Pop Recaps? I’ll have to think this one through.

 

  • Karen Senki

The first three episodes were not good. The animation was nice for a CG anime, but there was no story. Technically, there still isn’t much of a story, but at least with the fourth episode we got to see more of the world and the other characters instead of just seeing Karen fight robots all the time.

Verdict: Even though I don’t like this all that much, the fourth episode did lessen those feelings. I do feel like something crazy will happen, so I want to watch to see what it is and I do like the Elevens. Karen, not so much, but the Elevens are awesome. I’ve already started doing recaps for this and since it’s short (but feels long!) it’s not like I’m wasting a lot of time on it.

 

  • Selector Spread WIXOSS

My weekly fix of seeing girls suffer and get trolled is back….plus I like the story and characters. Now that Tama is back and in Aki-lovely’s hands, I wonder what’s going to happen.

Verdict: I loved the first season, so I’ll be sticking with this till the end. I’ll probably start doing recaps for this with the next episode.

 

  • Gugure! Kokkuri-san

I love this! Kohina is cute and I want to see her stop being a doll. The ghosts haunting her are funny, but also kind of creepy too. I mean, Kokkuri stalked her and Inugami wants to marry her. With the Tanuki, it looks like she has another weirdo to add to the ever growing list. Unlike the previous two, he seems more like a deadbeat loser. Basically, I love this.

Verdict: I love this. Recaps will happen with the next episode. Did I mention that I love this?

 

  • Donten ni Warau

I was super hyped for this and yet I haven’t seen an episode yet. Does this mean that I don’t want to watch this? No. Does this mean that it looks bad so I want to avoid it? No. Do I have too much animes to watch and mistakenly didn’t watch this one? No. Am I just lazy? Maybe, but no. For some reason, I have this desire to watch all of the episodes in one go instead of waiting every week. To me, it seems like an anime you power through and not wait for.

Verdict: Once the final episode comes out, I’ll watch this in its entirety. Till then, it’s on hold.

 

More thoughts to come!

Leave a Reply

