Day 16 – Anime With the Best Animation

I’ve been enjoying this challenge, but we’re already halfway done. It happened so quick too.

So today is about animes with the best animation. Like nikki from ニッキーのオタク I would have picked Garden of Words, because it is absolutely stunning. Anything by KyoAni tends to be pretty and even Guilty Crown, which was…it was nice to look at. High School of the Dead also had some pretty great animation too. I never finished the show, and don’t plan to, but the animation was great. Hellsing also has great animation and I loved the contrast and and style of JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure.

But I’m not going to pick those. Instead, I’m going to pick animes that while may have some off animation, the styling and overall feel made me like it. There’s tons more than this, but here’s a few that I liked.

Mononoke + Last story of Ayakashi

First showing up as the last story in Ayakashi: Japanese Classic Horror, Kusuriuri, our resident Medicine Seller, got his own series called Mononoke. I was quite happy when I first found that out, because his story is the best one in Ayakashi. The animation style is bright, colourful, and in my eyes masterful. It’s like you’re watching a old style Japanese painting come to life. The attention to details here, not only with the characters but the gorgeous backgrounds and place settings were lovely to watch. This anime is pure eye candy. I mean, even when it rains or snows the animation for it is lovely. This is a horror anime, but the colours here are so vibrant and alive. It seems like a weird contrast, but it works.

If you haven’t watched this yet, then I would suggest checking out Ayakashi first and then starting the series. It may seem like you don’t have to, but the last arc of Mononoke makes a lot of references from Ayakashi.

Gankutsuou (The Count of Monte Cristo)

 If you are a fan of Alexandre Dumas’ famous novel about revenge, then you might not like this. But if you like trippy animation that is very different from anything out there, then you should give this one a chance. Some things here are changed, but that is to be expected. I won’t really speak on that, I’ll save that for another day. Plus, this is about animation so that’s what I’ll talk about. Gankutsuou is very different from anything I’ve ever seen. Instead of solid colours or shades, enter a world where where jackets have texture and move alongside the character. This doesn’t happen with only clothing, but with hair and backgrounds as well. Visually, it is very appealing, but I did have to get use to it. There were times when I kept looking at the clothing and forgetting to read the subs, so I’d have to go back and focus. It does help emphases the extravagance of everything though.

Nobunaga Concerto

We’re talking about great animation, so obviously I’m going to rave about Nobunaga Concerto. When it comes to CG animes, it’s usually hit or miss for me. Not only do you have to get use to the CG, but you also have to get use to the fact that it will never be as smooth as traditional animes. At least for now. And Nobunaga Concerto isn’t an exception to that. There were times when the facial expressions of the characters didn’t come out properly and there were clunky movements. But you soon forgive all that because of the art style and animation of the backgrounds, the fights, and the characters. For a CG anime,this has one of the better animations that I’ve seen so far. And I’m not just saying that because I loved the show.

 

These three animes may not be at the top of the best animation list, but they tried something different and I feel like they succeeded.

6 thoughts on “Day 16 – Anime With the Best Animation

  1. miharusshi

    A friend also recommended me to watch Mononoke. Though I’ve seen pictures of it, it’s my first time seeing bits of the anime itself. 😀 Again, thanks for the reminder!

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      You’re very welcome! If you do get the chance to watch it, definitely start with Ayakashi. You don’t really need to, since Mononoke is a stand alone, but it will make you appreciate the last arc if you do.

      Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      That’s my way of saying, I would have filled up way too much space mentioning all of the animes I feel has good animation, but I won’t so here are three that are different but still good.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: -RE-Redoing The 30 Day Anime Challenge- – (Challenges)- -Mark’s Blog- | -Mark's Blog- Anime/Manga/ETC-

Leave a Reply

