First Impressions: School yard battle (jdrama style)

While finishing up the Nobunaga Concerto first impression, and by finishing up I mean start it, two new school dramas also came out. Jigoku Sensei Nube, based on the very popular manga series, and Gomen ne Seishun! Both are school dramas, both had people singing Let it Go (The Japanese version).

Jigoku-sensei-nube

Jigoku Sensei Nube

I’ve never read the manga or watched the anime, so I came into this blind. For some reason, I thought the students would be younger, like how they were in Akuma Chan. This isn’t a bad thing though or a complaint. It’s just something I thought would happen, but didn’t.

I’m not sure what to make of it though. The story line was fine and the acting was okay, but something here didn’t really click for me. Most of the humour fell flat, which is weird since I laugh very easily, and I didn’t connect to the characters or cared what happened to them.

I did read the first chapter of the manga to see if maybe I was missing something, but it wasn’t the same. I’m assuming that the drama is based off of it, but not a true adaptation. Again, not a big issue or a complaint. I just think I need more time before deciding whether I really like it or not. For now, the first episode was kind of meh.

Gomen ne Seishun!

Gomen ne Seishun!

I wasn’t really looking forward to this and was going to pass on it, but it turned out to be really good. The humour is good and I like everyone so far, except Hei-chan’s friend. What he did was really horrible. Encouraging your friend to talk to a girl he likes, only for you to date her behind his back.

It seems like this isn’t only a comedy, but a coming of age story for everyone including the teachers. I know it sounds weird, since I included teachers, but it’s clear that Hei-chan is still stuck on the past. I mean, he keeps every message that a girl has sent to him. That’s a little extreme.

In any case, I think this one will get me to laugh with the characters, feel their pain, and happy when they mature at the end.

…ps. The girls at the school are terrifying, which was shocking since we had a feel good moment with the guys.

Leave a Reply

