Day 11 – Favourite Mech Anime

This was the one question I was the most nervous about, mainly because I don’t really like mech animes. I don’t mind robots or androids, but mechs and watching them fight never really appealed to me. I have seen a few animes that fit this description though, but they’re few and far between and I’m trying to remember which ones would fit here.

I do feel like I should get over my judgment of mechs and just embrace it. I use to hate sports animes, but Haikyuu! changed that so I’m thinking that I just need a good series/movie to push me into this genre. There are a few that I want to watch, but I just need to get over the fact that they have mechs in them.

It’s hard though, it’s really hard.

If you have any recommendations of great mech animes for someone who doesn’t like mechs, then please let me know. It would make answering this question all that much more easier.

escaflowne

For now, I’ll have to go with Vision of Escaflowne. I watched this a long time ago, back when I only watched dubbed animes that were on TV. I just checked on wiki and it aired on YTV from 2000-2001, so I watched this almost 15 years ago. Wow that makes me feel old.

Seeing as it was that long ago when I watched it, I don’t really remember much about the show. It was a romance and focused on that more than the fantasy aspects, but I do remember liking this for the most part. The plot was okay, the characters were fine and I really enjoyed the villains here. The only thing that annoyed me was the love triangle. I guess even as a young’un I never liked love triangles or saw the need for them.

Unfortunately though, nothing else really comes to mind about this. But it is a mech anime and I do know that I liked this, so that answers this question.

If you guys know of any other mech animes that are good though, let me know and I’ll try to watch them.

4 thoughts on “Day 11 – Favourite Mech Anime

  1. D.T. Nova

    Mecha anime recommendations for people who aren’t mecha fans:

    Code Geass – Most battles are fought with mecha, but they’re unessential enough that some of the spinoff manga don’t have them. The title of the show even comes from Lelouch’s mind control powers, not a mech, and it’s unusual as a mecha series because the main character isn’t the ace and doesn’t pilot either of the two hyped-up main mecha.

    Full Metal Panic! – If I remember right, some episodes don’t even have mecha in them. Sosuke has extensive military training but no understanding of common social situations, so comedy ensues when he’s assigned to be bodyguard to a high school student. The episodes that do have serious mecha battles are considerably more dramatic.

    Gurren Lagann – If you want to give a super robot anime a try, this would be the one. It’s known for its over-the-top action, comedy, over-the-top dialogue, and even more over-the-top action, it contains elements of parody while still being a a good example of the genre itself.

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      I watched Code Geass, but dropped it after 13 episodes. The mechs are minimal, but I just didn’t like the story.

      I’ll check out Full Metal Panic! and Gurren Lagann though.

      Thanks for the recommendations! 🙂

      Reply
      1. miharusshi

        Code Geass is one of my top favorites. I think it is mainly because of R2, which did so much more for the entire series just like how Kai explained a lot regarding the events in the first season of Higurashi no Naku Koro ni. Plus, the animation (for both sequels) leaped in quality. Of course, it’s up to you if you want to watch the series.

        I also agree about Gurren Lagann. 🙂 That’s one of the series with the most sakuga in anime and quite a number of badass characters.

        I’ll take note of FMP! Been wanting to watch it since long ago.

        Reply
  2. Pingback: -RE-Redoing The 30 Day Anime Challenge- – (Challenges)- -Mark’s Blog- | -Mark's Blog- Anime/Manga/ETC-

Leave a Reply

