First Impressions: Doctor-X 3 (jdrama)

Doctor-X_(Season_3)-p1

My first thought was, KYAAAA IT’S BACK!

My second thought was, wow my french isn’t as horrible as I initially thought since I understood everything that was said.

But really, I’m glad that this is back.

I know that some may not like this because it follows the same formula almost every episode when it comes to the surgeries, but I love it. I really do. Even if the medical cases all end with success once Daimon does it, it’s the hospital politics that make it exciting.

Seems like in this season, it’s not just one hospital team but two. East vs. West and Daimon-sensei is more than happy to get in the middle as long as she can do as many surgeries as she can. It also looks like the nurses will play a bigger role, which is great bec ause for the last two seasons it’s mostly been the doctors and we all know that nurses play an important role in a hospital as well.

The new president seems pretty interesting too. Unlike the previous bosses, Tendo seems to actually care about the well being of the patients. I’m not sure if this is really true, but if it is then he’ll act like a foil to the other doctors at the hospital who only care about their position and not about those they’re serving.

It’s also nice to see other women around. At most there was always three or four and the rest of the cast is men. Obviously, this was needed to show how Daimon interacts in a male dominated society, but it’s still nice to have some females there. The nurses seem annoyed by her, but still willing to help so that’s good to me. I’m looking forward to seeing how their story turns out.

One of the biggest things I’m looking forward to is Ebina. I was really disappointed in him at the end of the last season. He was a Yes Man and that no one respected or liked very much. Even though he didn’t do anything, he was praised because he was the last man standing. He got what he wanted, but at the expense of looking like a fool.

Now that he’s the chief surgeon, he doesn’t have the respect of his team and Kaji (who I’m happy is back as a regular here) questions him. I have a feeling like Kaji will join the part time crew at the end of the season, but for now maybe he’ll provide Ebina will some courage to think for himself.

Then again, if he’s rewarded for being the Yes Man I don’t know if he’ll change.

All in all, I thought this was a pretty great first start. Can’t wait for the next episode!

Leave a Reply

