Day 5 – Anime You’re Ashamed You Enjoyed

I don’t think there’s any anime that I’m ashamed about. If this question is more about whether you’d talk about said anime to people or not, then that would be almost every anime I’ve ever watched. Almost none of my real life friends watch anime and find it to be a childish thing.

I might be shy in admitting some of the characters I like. My friends don’t like animes, so explaining why Shirosaki from Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou and Ataru from D-Frag are awesome might be a weird conversation.

It’s not that ashamed of liking them, but you have to start small with people who don’t know about animes. You gotta ease them into it, by introducing them to “normal” characters. Then the quirky ones can be…

Wait! I just remembered one that I guess fits the bill. Ore no Nounai Sentakushi ga, Gakuen Love Comedy wo Zenryoku de Jama Shiteiru…NouCome for short.

noucome

NouCome is an anime that has everything I tend to avoid. I don’t like harems with cliche girls that have the same typical personality trait that every harem girl has. I don’t like overly done fan services and sexual innuendos for every joke. I don’t like blushing every two seconds. And I don’t like stupid plot points that force comedy down our throats.

And yet…I actually enjoyed this series. Yes, it’s stupid and the situations the characters get themselves into is ridiculous, but it’s fun. This isn’t something you’re meant to take seriously, but just go with it.

The choices that Kanade had to make were never good for him. Every single option was always meant to mess with him and ruin his reputation. I sympathized with him completely, because he can’t win. If he fulfills the choice, then he looks weird and perverted to everyone. If he doesn’t pick a choice, he’s faced with intense pain that won’t go away until he picks something.

It sucks for him, but I found it enjoyable.

He still had girls fawning over him, so I guess it isn’t so bad. Hmmm, but you know, I’m starting to realize that I like it when characters get screwed with. I wonder what that says about me, knowing that this makes a show more enjoyable?

In any case, it is kind of embarrassing saying that I like it though and it’s definitely one that I wouldn’t freely admit, except that I did here for the sake of this challenge. NouCome isn’t the best anime, in fact it’s not even all that good. It’s stupid, absurd, and I would never recommend this to anyone…and yet it’s a guilty pleasure of mine.

NouCome…it’s definitely an anime that I’m ashamed to admit I enjoyed.

Now that I’ve admitted this, please forget that I ever said it.

4 thoughts on “Day 5 – Anime You’re Ashamed You Enjoyed

  1. miharusshi

    Uh, you’re in denial. We all can see that. Hahahaha. Great job on taking this particular challenge! To be honest, I enjoyed the show as well, even though it was entirely stupid… I even watched the OVA.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: [30-Week Anime] WEEK 2 – Anime You’re Ashamed You Enjoyed | AniRa

  3. Pingback: -RE-Redoing The 30 Day Anime Challenge- – (Challenges)- -Mark’s Blog- | -Mark's Blog- Anime/Manga/ETC-

Leave a Reply

