More First Impressions

Another batch of first impressions! I’m starting to see a theme for this fall season. Some have said that we have a lot of VN adaptations, but it’s not that. The 2014 Fall Anime Season is the season of boob grabbing. It’s happening quite a bit. More than a bit actually.

Have you noticed another trend this season?

kiseijuu
Kiseijuu: Sei no Kakuritsu

I think this will be a great series and I’m not just saying that because I’m a fan of the manga. Okay, maybe I am, but it’s also true. Some of the series that are cropping up are from mangas I’ve read, some have been decent adaptations, but horrible animation (World Trigger) and some have great animation, but they’re dropping the ball when it comes to the story (Terra Formars), but it seems like everything is on point here. The animation is crisp, the voice acting is fine, and the story…let’s just say that I had a smile on my face during my time watching it.

I was afraid that it would get censored. Even if it did, it’s not that big of a deal to me. I think we’re all use to it at this point, but it wasn’t censored and it still conveyed the scariness of the parasitic creatures.

They did change a few things, like the main character having glasses and some of the hijinks he gets involved in due to Migi (his right hand), but it’s great so far. Madhouse tends to do an amazing job with their animes, so I have complete faith in them.

Hitsugi no Chaika
Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle

Ah, I didn’t realize that this was the second season of an already established show. I just clicked on it without reading the description. Now that I know now, it changes my opinion of some things. I felt like I was missing something, but I guess that’s because I am. An entire first season. For some reason I’m getting a Scrapped Princess vibe from this. That’s probably because a girl is with two siblings and they need to do something in a medieval sort of setting. Just looked it up and it’s made by the same author, so that makes sense.

I don’t really like how Chaika talks though, but I did like Scrapped Princess so maybe I’ll check out the first season just to see how it is.

Hi☆sCoool! SeHa Girls
Hi☆sCoool! SeHa Girls

I like the little inside jokes about the old game systems, but I don’t think this is something I would like on a weekly basis. It is short and if you like old games, then you might like this.

Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai
Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai

Another anime I just clicked on without reading the description. The beginning was quite good and I liked the flashback scene. The main story is interesting, but now that I know the synopsis this seems like it will be a harem anime. Not sure how I feel about that.
There was another boob grab here and I say another, because there seems to be a lot of boob grabbing this season. I liked that there seemed to be some consequences about it and made sense for the plot.

This could be good, especially since Kakei has the ability to sense the future, but I’m not sure how much of a role that’s going to play here. Hopefully it’s not a typical harem and it has some depth to it.

psycho pass 2
Psycho-Pass 2

It’s Psycho Pass and it’s the second season. I was afraid that it might be a rehash of the first season, especially since there’s another naive girl joining the team. But from the first episode it doesn’t seem to be the case. The new girl seems to not see the enforcers as humans and is questioning every action done by her team.

Seeing the old characters was nice. Akane’s growth, while keeping her ideals intact, is really highlighted here. It’s also nice seeing Ginoza again. Even though a lot of people hated him last season, he was my favourite character. His story was depressing and unfortunately, he realized what matters in life after he loses someone important. Here, he’s not being stupid, but actually working with the team. It makes me happy.

In any case, it’s Psycho-Pass and it’s the second season, so I’m expecting some great things here. The last scene especially looked good.

Shirobako

Shirobako

Don Don Donuts! Let’s go Nuts!

At first it seemed like a K-ON! type show with a bunch of girls doing club activities. Then real life comes into play and some dangerous driving happens. Such dangerous driving.

Once that’s done, it gets good. I have a feeling that this will make me feel bad whenever I talk badly about anime though. If the animation dips, I might start saying things like, “Maybe things ran behind schedule,” or “Their key animator got sick and got someone else to finish it at the last-minute.”

Truthfully, I probably won’t. I’ll still talk about the animation and whatnot. But I’ll just feel bad about it. I really enjoyed Bakuman and seeing the behind the scenes of manga and its development. I think this will do the same thing with animes, so I’m really looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

