Five First Impressions

Another batch of first impressions!

 

Amagi Brilliant Park

Amagi Brilliant Park

After I finished watching the first episode, I had to check MAL to make sure that this was KyoAni was the studio behind this adapation. Why? Because there’s an ecchi scene and a kiss. Two things that almost never happen.

It was strange. This seems like an interesting show and I do tend to like what KyoAni does (sometimes). My only concern is that the animes I’ve watched by KyoAni start off strong, but the ending leaves me with mixed feelings.

That being said, it does have an interesting premise so I’m going to give it a chance. Even though I didn’t laugh at anything, I already love the idea that the main character has the ability to read minds. Considering he’s a narcasist who has no friends, this ability should provide some entertainment. Hearing what other people are saying will either boost his ego or get him depressed. It might sound bad saying this, but I want to see that happen.

Inou-Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de

Inou-Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de

This starts off with being a normal slice of life club room comedy. There’s one guy, who suffers from chuunibyou, and he’s joined by five girls, a loli, a strong silent type, a super nice girl, the straight woman, and a new one that just showed up here. Not sure what her character type is at the moment.

In any case, they all have super powers and they’re not sure why they have them or what they’re suppose to do with it. Even though it is a typical slice of life club comedy, even though I didn’t really laugh here either, the supernatural angle is a nice quirk and the mystery about why they were gifted with these powers makes me want to know more.

I don’t think it’s bad, but generic. It does have a lot of room to grow though.

Akatsuki no Yona

Akatsuki no Yona

This went pretty much the way I expected. I couldn’t stand Yona and since I watched the preview, I knew that Soo Won would betray her and shank the king. Which is a shame, since I liked the king. He seemed like a cool dude. Even though Hak is the typical childhood friend who likes to insult the female MC and will probably end up having feelings for her, I did like him. Hak and the king were my favourite things about the first episode, in terms of characters. The ending was the best part.

This has potential to be really good, so I’m looking forward to the next episode!

Ai Tenchi Muyo!

Ai Tenchi Muyo!

I didn’t like it. Maybe it’s because I’m not familiar with the Tenchi series, but nothing here worked for me. The fan services felt forced, the girls don’t really stand out, and I’m not sure what the plot is. It is only four minutes, so it’s hard to set up everything within that time period, but I don’t want to stick around to find out more.

trinity seven

Trinity Seven

Apparently a lot of people are looking forward to this one. I’ve never read the manga, so I went into this blind and it didn’t work for me. Everything felt rushed and the animation was weird. There were moments when it was nice, but most of the time the backgrounds, which were rich in detail, didn’t fit the characters, who seemed washed out and bland. The contrast between the two didn’t really sit well with me.

I’ll give it another episode, but I dunno. I didn’t really like this one.

Leave a Reply

