First Impressions – 6 in 1

Another round of first impressions, this time six animes in one post. Yay! The animes up are Gugure! Kokkuri-san, Sora no Method, Orenchi no Furo Jijou, Grisaia no Kajitsu, Bottom Biting Bugs 3, and World Trigger

After watching these animes, I already feel like one of them will be my favourite of the season. It’s just that good, not only with the plot but the animation too.

-.-

world trigger

World Trigger

In terms of the adaptation of the manga, I’d say it’s pretty faithful so far and the characters are pretty much how they are in the comic. I really like Kuma, so it was nice to see all of his funny facial expressions here. He’s just so cute! Osamu is pretty good here too, he’s weak but has a strong sense of justice. Things do get crazier as the story opens up, especially when the lead female joins the gang, but it will take a bit to get there.

So the adaptation is great so far, but the animation is really bad. I mean, we get closer ups on faces and pause there for a few seconds for no real reason. When the pan out away from the characters, the drawings look really weak. The fighting was weird and clunky and everything was a bit hit or miss here.

Maybe Toei has too many animes on their plate at the moment, which is why the animation here is so weak. I kind of wish World Trigger went to another studio, because I don’t really expect things to get better from a visual standpoint.The story here is good though and I’m a fan of the manga, so I’m just happy that this is out. I just wish the animation was better….I feel the same way about Sailor Moon too. 😦

-.-

oshiri kajiri mushi 3

Bottom Biting Bugs 3

It’s not really targeting towards me, so I don’t think I’ll stick with it. But I did laugh when they were singing about brushing your teeth and said, “If you don’t brush, you’ll go to Hell!” Things just got serious with that. It’s short, but a little over the top for me. I get why kids love it though.

-.-

Grisaia no Kajitsu

Grisaia no Kajitsu

This looks like a typical harem anime and it has the same cliche group of girls, but the psychological tag made me check this out. It actually looks promising, but I don’t know if I can handle the fan service. It seems more redundent and out there for the sake of showing instead of having a real purpose. Most fan service is like that, but I guess it’s just not done all that well here.

All of the students seem to have a past involving death, I think? One of them took out a knife, so I’m assuming she’s cut someone and was brought here. Another student was making a bomb. Another seems to be great at breaking and entering, while the main lead guy seems to be an assassin of some sort? I think I’ll give it a few episodes to see how their pasts play out, but other than that the characters are very cliched and the fan service is annoying.

-.-

orenchi no furo jijou

Orenchi no Furo Jijou

Pretty much what I expected. I knew that this would be only a four minute anime, but it seriously could have been longer. They cut out quite a bit from the manga, but I guess it’s okay. I still wish it was longer, because this does have some really funny moments. It’s only four minutes though, so I’ll stick with this until the end!

-.-

Sora no Method

Sora no Method

I feel like this one will be heavy with the drama and may make a few people cry. The premise sounds interesting though, but not sure how this will play out. I think it will have the friends come together and get their wishes granted and then everyone will cry. I’m a bit worried that the drama will feel heavy handed and will try to force you to cry, even though you don’t want to.

In that way, it kind of reminds me of Nagi no Asukara. As the characters start to come together and the wishes start to be fulfilled then my opinion might change. The first episode is okay though, but there’s still a lot more story to be revealed.

-.-

Gugure! Kokkuri-san

Gugure! Kokkuri-san

That ED might be the greatest thing I’ve ever seen. As for the show, it’s cute, it’s funny, and I love everything about it. I initially thought it would only be a four – seven minute anime, so I’m happy that it’s a full length.

There were times when I felt like the anime felt longer than 22 minutes, but it doesn’t matter because I loved every moment of this. The characters are great and the change in Kohina’s animation is a nice touch. She’s cute with funny looking eyes for the most part, but there are times when we see how she’s actually meant to be during the more serious moments. The contrast is nice.

She’s a really depressing child though. The more she talked about her life, the more I understood why Kokkuri decided to haunt her. I’m not even a ghost, but I wanted to haunt her as well.

Judging by the first episode, I have a feeling that I’ll really like this anime. Sorry not like, but love. It might even end up being my favourite anime of the fall season. Can’t wait for more!

6 thoughts on “First Impressions – 6 in 1

  1. Princeytay

    HAH it’s really amusing to see you’ve actually watched the bottom biting bugs. always thought the title of the show sounds funny, maybe i’ll go watch it later or something haha.

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      It’s super short, so definitely give it a try just to see what it’s about. It’s definitely for kids though, but that doesn’t mean it’s bad. Some parts were funny. 🙂

      Reply
      1. Princeytay

        Haha. Alright then I’ll give the bottom biting bugs ago! and also Kokkuri-san since you thought well of it. 🙂

        I’m abit skeptical of the mermaid-man one. Is that Yaoi/BL?

        I personally enjoyed Grisaia but found Sora no method pretty boring though.

        Reply
    2. mochirochi Post author

      The Mermaid one isn’t Yaoi/BL, there are some hints of Shounen-ai, but from what I’ve read in the manga there’s nothing really like that in here. There’s not that many female characters though as this is a mostly male cast.

      Reply
  2. clear

    Kokkuri-san was really cute, I’m glad I tried it out! (in contrast, Donten was kind of a disappointment, but I can’t put my finger on why.)

    I’m willing to give Word Trigger some time, it wasn’t that bad looking most of the time.

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      I haven’t watched Doten yet, but hopefully I’m not disappointed. When I was reading the manga, it took me a bit before getting into it and then I didn’t read it….that doesn’t really help with your feelings, but I’ve heard great things about it! I’ve read something else by the mangaka and enjoyed it, so I’m hoping the anime is good.

      World Trigger starts off slow, but then becomes really exciting. If you can look past the animation, I think you might like it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

