Day 1 – Very First Anime You Watched

For most 90s kids in Canada, the only animes I got to watch were from YTV, but I didn’t really know what animes were until Sailor Moon and Dragonball Z came out. I thought they were my firsts for a long time, until I discovered that YTV was already showing anime before this.

I’m not sure which one came first, so I’ll just say the first animes that I watched were Samurai Pizza Cats and Maya the Bee.

Samurai Pizza Cats were about three pizza loving cats that fought crime. I don’t really remember any of the episodes, but their intro was typical 90s fare.

Maya the Bee first came out in the 70s, but I guess they replayed it in the 90s as well. When I first found out that this was an anime, I was actually pretty shocked. Now that I think about it, it makes sense. All of the insects here were terrified of hornets, which I never understood. There was this one episode, and it’s the only one that I remember, where a wasp dresses up as a hornet. All of the insects became her friend, which I found weird too because as a kid wasps were terrifying.

Now that I know about them and how they kill at least four people every year in Japan, I get their fear of hornets. Wasps are nothing compared to them.

Ah! I just remembered another one that I watched. There was this French one too that came on the 90s also. I didn’t really watch it properly, because it was in French and my comprehension of the language isn’t all that great. (I humbly apologize to all of my french teachers). I don’t even remember the show all that well, but the theme song always got stuck in my head.

Found it! It’s called Les Mystérieuses Cités d’Or (The Mysterious City of Gold).


Ahhhhhh ahhhh ahhh ahhh ahhhhhhhhh – I’d always just say that part and hum the rest.

Out of these three, I’m not sure which one I watched first, but I do know that it was one of these three.

One thought on “Day 1 – Very First Anime You Watched

  1. Pingback: -RE-Redoing The 30 Day Anime Challenge- – (Challenges)- -Mark’s Blog- | -Mark's Blog- Anime/Manga/ETC-

Leave a Reply

