First Impressions: Time Spiral

time spiral

Synopsis: When Natsuki Aizawa (Meisa Kuroki) was a child, she was kidnapped which left her traumatized. Natsuki grew up relying on her friend Kentaro Yuki (Yuta Hiraoka). She now studies physics at a university. One day, she meets newly appointed professor Shuya Tatsumi (Gackt). Afterwards, mysterious events continually happen around Natsuki Aizawa. Shuya is time traveller who travels between the future and the past.
Episodes Count: 8
Runtime: 30 mins

Four episodes done, four more to go!

My first thought is, I wonder if I’ll ever be able to watch a show with Gackt and not think to myself, “Wow, this guy really does have creepy down to a T.” After I watched him bite his fingers off in Mr. Brain, I’m typecast Gackt in everything else I’ve seen him in.

In Akumu-Chan, he was a little too obsessive with the little girl. In the end, it made sense. But only in the end.

Now, I’m not saying this as a bad thing. I like when he’s like this, so when he showed up here and continued his creepy streak. I was all for it. To be honest, at this point he’s the best thing about the show.

For some reason, Gackt’s character, Shuya, is trying to get in the way of Natsuki and Kentaro’s relationship. Why? We don’t know yet. He keeps saying he’ll make things right and that they’ll be together this time, so it’s kind of weird. And Creepy! ^.^

This is a sci-fi show that deals with time travel, so there are some supernatural elements here as well. So far, we know that Shuya went back in time to save Natsuki when she was a kid. I guess she died, but he turned back time and saved her or something? He’s now come back in her life and is pretty adamant that they have dinner and that she doesn’t marry Kentaro.

There’s a scene when Kentaro proposes and Shuya just shows up and says, “Nope. Not going to happen.” And we’re brought back to right before the proposal happens. Just as Kentaro starts to bring it up, Shuya comes and kisses Natsuki.

Heartless and kind of a jerkish thing to do, since Natsuki doesn’t welcome the kiss. Kentaro leaves and the proposal never happens.

I kind of feel bad for Kentaro, but at the same time I’m confused as to why he’s proposing when he’s not even dating Natsuki. They keep referring to each other as childhood friends, so I don’t know if they’re actually dating or not. I mean, even if you’re not dating and propose it’s not that big of a deal. People back home do this all the time and I guess it happens in Japan too, but at least find out if the person likes you or not. Right? It seems like the relationship is very one sided.

When it comes to the acting, everything is pretty standard so far. Gackt is the best one though and he’s really holding my interest in the show. However, I don’t think it’s the fault of the other actors. Gackt has more to work with, while the same can’t be said for everyone else. Meisa is starting to shine a bit more, so maybe the others will too as the plot moves forward.

Now that four  episodes are done and over with, I’m starting to get a better idea of the story, but there’s still a lot more secrets to be revealed. I’m hoping it’s a fitting end though and not something pulled out of nowhere. But more importantly, I hope Shuya remains creepy. Whoever did the casting for this couldn’t have picked a more perfect actor to play that role.

*sigh* Now I have a strong desire to watch his episode from Mr. Brain.

gackt - mr. brain

 

Leave a Reply

