First Impressions: Three in One

I feel like I should give each one its own post, especially Selector Spread WIXOSS, but I don’t have time for that so here’s three first impressions on Denki-gai no Honya-san, Danna ga Nani wo Itteiru ka Wakaranai Ken and Selector Spread WIXOSS.

Denki-gai no Honya-san

Denki-gai no Honya-san

The first scene when Sensei falls asleep and goes into the shrink wrap machine, only for her to wake up and realize that she’s dreaming made me laugh. I’ve been there and had similar hallucinations. I probably shouldn’t mention that, but oh well.

That scene, along with maybe two other ones, were the only scenes that I laughed at. Might give this another two episodes before deciding whether to continue or not. I do like some of the characters like the Director though. Maybe the more we see of the employees, the better I’ll like it.

Danna ga Nani wo Itteiru ka Wakaranai Ken

Danna ga Nani wo Itteiru ka Wakaranai Ken (I Can’t Understand What My Husband Is Saying)

Seems over the top, but the wedding ceremony was funny and some of the stuff held my attention. I’m jealous of the husband though. Making a living by blogging about animes. If only that could happen in my life. I feel the same way about working as he does.

Is it weird that I relate more to the otaku husband who is male, when I’m female? What does that say about me…..I wonder if I ever get married, will I be the same way with my husband? This is only a comedy anime, a short one at three minutes at that, but it’s seriously making me question my life at the moment.

Seeing as the anime is only three minutes long, I don’t see myself dropping this as long as it doesn’t become too stupid or too ecchi.

Selector Spread WIXOSS

Selector Spread WIXOSS

Spoilers from the first season will be mentioned here. If you haven’t watched the first season, then read at your own risk. But seriously, watch the first season. It’s great!

I’m glad this is back on. Watching these girls have so much hope in their wishes coming true, only for it to turn against them…it fills my heart with such happiness. I still don’t think their situation is as crappy as what happens to the girls in Madoka, but it’s still fun to watch.

The second season takes place two seasons after the first. Ruko is still dealing with the fact that Tama disappeared and Iona took her place. We get a lot of flashbacks in this episode and some appearances from girls from the first season.

It’s nice to see Ruko and Hitoe together, but it was a little weird for me because Hitoe’s wish got tainted in the first season. She wasn’t even able to touch Ruko and the others, but now she can freely talk about her friends and be a shoulder for Ruko. What happened here?

Aki-lucky is in the next episode and she looks fine, so I wonder what happened to her tainted wish too. I suppose it did though, since Iona is now with Ruko, so she can’t take down someone who is no longer there. Maybe that’s what the next episode is alluding too?

I do like the contrast of Iona with Ruko compared to Ruku with Tama. Tama was naive and playful, but Iona freely taunts her. I love it. I want to see Ruko and Iona together in battle. I don’t think Ruko will be as happy as before, but the two of them should be a powerful duo.

Leave a Reply

