Preview: Fall 2014 Anime Season

When it comes to animes, I try to check out as many as I can before making a decision. If it’s a sequel or based on a manga I read, then I’m definitely going to be viewing it. If it’s new, then as long as it isn’t a harem, mech, stupid cliched anime then I’m game for anything.

 

Will definitely watch

Selector Spread WIXOSS – I was surprised by how much I liked the first season. I thought it would be a female version of Yu-gi-oh, so I didn’t really think it was going to be good. But it did have psychological as one of the genres, so I watched it and loved it. A lot of people have compared it to the Madoka series simply because the way the ‘special gift’ ends up screw over each girl. Even though it sounds wrong, I can’t wait to see how much more this game messes with the girls.

Psycho-Pass 2 – When the first season came out, I didn’t watch it right away. It’s right up my alley, but I couldn’t stand the lead girl’s eyes. In a series anime, she’s so moe. I hated it. Now, I still can’t stand her eyes, but that’s okay because the show was top-notch! Hopefully this season won’t simply be a rehash of the first one, since there’s another naive girl joining the crew.

Terra Formars – I love the manga, so I’m pretty hyped for this. I have a feeling like it will be censored a lot, but it’s anime so it’s expected. I kind of wish that the show started where the manga starts frp,, only because it helps sets the mood. The mood that everyone is going to die. I’m not even kidding. Every time you get emotional invested, they die. I still like the characters, but that feeling that they’ll die is always there. Always!

World Trigger – Another one where I’ve read the manga. It’s pretty interesting, so I’ll be watching the anime.

Kiseijuu – this was actually one of the first manga series that I ever completed, so it holds a special place in my heart. I’ll be watching this, hopefully they don’t censor it too much and they don’t only make it serious since there were a few comedy bits in this too.

Donten ni Warau – I’ve read some of this, but one thing I can tell you is that the artwork is beautiful. Hopefully it translates well in the anime, because the story is good.

Orenchi no Furo Jijou – seems like a silly fun show. I found the first chapter out there and it didn’t seem all that bad. Will be interesting to see how this one plays out.

Gugure! Kokkuri-san – like Orenchi, this looks silly and fun, but also cute.

Shirobako – an anime about anime. Sounds good to me!

 

On the fence

Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji – I’m on the fence with this one. I’ve read some of the manga and liked the beginning, but once they start dating for real some of the spark goes away. Might be good though.

Akatsuki no Yona – interesting premise, but I still wasn’t sure so I watched the PV. At first, I didn’t have good thoughts, but after her dad dies it starts looking up.

Magic Kaito 1412 – For some reason, this makes me think of Nijuu Mensou no Musume (Daughter of 20 Faces). I don’t know if it will be good or not, but the promo picture and the trailer just reminds me of 20 faces, so for that reason I’ll take a look.

Karen Senki – I already talked about the first episode and didn’t really care for it. However, maybe it will be good? I’ll be giving it two more episodes before making a final verdict. Hopefully it gets better.

 

There are plenty of other animes coming out. I might check them out too…..we’ll see.

5 thoughts on “Preview: Fall 2014 Anime Season

  1. clear

    I had completely forgotten about Psycho Pass S2! I’m glad there’s still anime to look forward to in the coming season, I thought I would have an empty heart for a while.

    Reply
      1. clear

        Well, I looked up a chart and there’s quite a few titles to give a chance. Hopefully Donten ni Warau alleviates my ‘old time-y’ yearning. Plus there’s that Ghibli series. And Youkai Watch!

        Reply
  2. Princeytay

    Is Selector Spread Wixoss worth watching? I actually dropped it after the first episode (I thought it was some childish anime). Looks like I might be wrong!

    Anyway, watch Shigetsu wa kimi no uso! I’ve read the manga, pretty good!

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      Shigetsu wa kimi no uso is the piano one right? I think I’ve read some of the manga, but wasn’t sure if I wanted to watch the anime. I’ll check it out though.

      And yea, Wixoss starts off slow, but gets really good as it goes on. It’s surprisingly dark and the final episode left us with a pretty crazy cliffhanger.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

