Nobunaga Concerto – Colour Me Surprised!

Nobunaga Concerto

Synopsis: Due to some unlikely events, Saburou is flung back in time to the Sengoku Era. In the past, he meets a young, but sickly Oda Nobunaga, one of Japan’s greatest warlords. Unable to shake Saburou’s uncanny resemblance to himself, Nobunaga asks Saburou to take his place as warlord. Equipped with knowledge from the modern era, will Saburou be able to unite Japan?

Genres: Historical, Romance, Shounen

Episodes: 10

When I was looking at new animes for the summer season, I quickly tossed Nobunaga Concerto to the side for three main reasons.

  1. After watching 3 episode of Nobunagun, I didn’t really want to watch anything about Nobunaga.

Hmmm, that’s actually pretty much the only reason. There was also Nobunaga the Fool, but I really don’t like mech animes so I avoided that one too.

After seeing a picture on tumblr, I decided to check this one out. At first, I was turned off. Mainly due to the animation. It’s not your typical anime style, so it kind of threw me off.

saburou - Nobunaga Concerto

But I kept watching it. And watching it. And then I finished all ten episodes. By the end of it, I was hoping for more. Desperately wanted more. I wish it was 12 episodes at least that way I’d get more.

Basically, I was pleasantly surprised by this. The anime did have some issues, such as the facial expressions not conveying everything and the fact that everything, especially in the second half of the anime, felt rushed. But you know what, I didn’t care.

I have no idea what happened. An anime that I had no desire to watch, being one of my favourites of this season. I absolutely loved every second of this. The writing was great. The characters were engaging, despite the lack of facial movement. The voice actors were on point. And the animation grew on me, in fact I freaking loved the animation for this, especially the backgrounds for everything. It was stunning.

I think the animation did turn off some people, which is a shame because this is quite a little gem here. Hopefully the drama will get more people to watch this and gives the studio a boost to make a second season of this.

There are some issues and some plot holes, but as a whole I was pleasantly surprised by this. I guess I shouldn’t judge an anime based on it’s animation, or it’s synopsis. I think what surprises me the most was how I overlooked this, but was super excited for M3: Sono Kuroki Hagane.

In the end, I gobbled up Nobunaga Concerto while I grew increasingly bored by M3: Sono Kuroki Hagane. It was actually a chore to finish that one and the payoff wasn’t that great.

But Nobunaga Concerto. It was so good. I can’t even write up a proper review for it, because I keep fangirling. It’s kind of embarrassing, but what can you do…except embrace it fully!

nobunaga concerto

Now I have to find the manga to fill in the plot holes and to find out what happens next.

 

Randomish Side point: The ED is by My First Story. When I first heard it, I kind of sounded like One Ok Rock. Surprise, surprise, the leader singer for My First Story is the little brother to the leader singer of One Ok Rock. I wonder if he also started out in an idol band too?

One thought on “Nobunaga Concerto – Colour Me Surprised!

  1. Pingback: First Impressions: Nobunaga Concerto (jdrama) | mocorochi

Leave a Reply

