Japanese Fall 2014 Drama Preview

Totally took the title from MDL.

The Fall season is upon us and before I write up which animes I’ll be looking forward to, here are some Jdramas that are coming out that look pretty sweet. Instead of mentioning all of them, I’ll just name the three jdramas that I’m most looking forward to the most.

Nobunaga Concerto - jdrama

Nobunaga Concerto

I actually laughed when I found out that this was getting a jdrama. You just have to look at my last post to see how much I loved the anime, which I started and finished only today, so to know that there’s a jdrama fills my heart with such excitement. I’m in…I’m so in. Not only because it’s Nobunaga Concerto, but the fact that my favourite Japanese actor, Yamada Takayuki, is in this.

DoctorX3

Doctor-X 3

Even though Aoshima didn’t like it….*cries* I miss Wagatsuma-san wa Ore no Yome. It’s only been a week since it ended, but I miss it!!! *coughs*

Even though Aoshima didn’t like it, I can’t get enough of Daimon Michiko and her catch phrase. Seems like some of the actors from the previous editions will be back again. And instead of just taking place in one hospital, it will take place in two. Sound be good!

Tamagawa Kuyakusho of the Dead

 Tamagawa Kuyakusho of the Dead 

The font is reminicent of Shaun of the Dead, which is one of my favourite movies, so this better be good. It has zombies, it has kendo, and a fairly interesting synopsis. Hayashi Kento plays Akaba Shinsuke who is a down on his luck kind of guy. He lacks motivation to do anything and according to the synopsis he “leads an uninspiring life.” I kind of like characters like this. They start off fairly useless, but become awesome due to the circumstance they’re in. Who knows, he may end up being like Hideo from I am Hero.

 

Notable Mentions: 

Sakura ~ Jiken o Kiku Onna: I loved Nakama Yukie as Saki. She’s a brillant actress, so I’ll be checking this one out for her.

Subete ga F ni Naru: Saikou no Rikon was my favourite drama last year and one of the reasons for that was because of Ayano Go. He was able to make me love a cheater…not because he was cute, but because of the acting. This seems like a locked room case, but the picture makes it seem like something different.

Time Spiral: This one is currently airing, but I haven’t had a chance to watch it yet. From what I’ve heard, this one looks promising.

N no Tame ni: I love mysteries, so I’ll definitely be checking this one out.

I know this is about jdramas, but I’m going to add this kdrama that looks interesting. Interesting, only because I loved the manga and the jdrama.

Liar Game: One thing that it has going for it is that it’s okay 10 episodes. That’s a good thing, because usually kdramas tend to lengthen things for no reason other than to add unnecessary drama. Hopefully there’s no romance.

4 thoughts on “Japanese Fall 2014 Drama Preview

  1. clear

    I wonder if Nobunaga Concerto will get picked up by drama subbers, I haven’t really followed that crowd much. I’ve become super enamored by it too!

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      Yay! I’m glad someone shares my love for Nobunaga Concerto too! I think we have a good chance for it to be picked up. Oguri Shun plays Saburou/Nobunaga, so subbers will pick it up because of him. The rest of the cast is pretty well known, so I think we’ll see it subbed. 🙂

      Reply
  2. XDantheManX

    Hi! I’m pretty new to the J-drama community.

    Do you know where may I find a list of upcoming shows and the groups which are planning to sub it? Something like FansubDB or MAL for animes.

    Thanks! 🙂

    Reply
    1. mochirochi Post author

      I’m not too sure about that. Maybe D-addicts or DarkSmurfSub? Both have groups that fansub episodes, but it’s usually for torrents. I’ve used both before and they’re great.

      Not sure of a place like MAL though that mentions the subbers in that much detail though. If you know of a place, let me know!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

