Spring Anime First Impressions pt 2

I’ve already given my first impressions to five animes so far, so here are a few more that I’ve watched.

Before I start, I’ve noticed two things so far.

1. There seems to be a lot of mech animes this season

Granted, this could be the case for every season, but I feel like there’s quite a bit here.

2. Incest vibes

So far, I’ve watched two animes with a slight incest vibe to them. In both cases, it’s the sister who seems to feel it more than the guy. I’m not really sure what this is about to be honest. It is a bit awkward, but I don’t think it will affect my view of the shows.

Anywho, here are some more first impressions:

Isshuukan Friends.

Isshuukan Friends.

One Week Friends is everything that I want it to be so far. I really like the manga. It’s cute. It’s bittersweet, but still hopeful and the characters really do pop out. I was initially nervous that this was going to be a shorter length anime, somewhere from 7-15 minutes per episode, but I’m glad it’s longer. The animation is well done and I like how they went with an airy dreamy sort of style with the colours. They’re bold when they need to be, but light in other moments. I’m pretty sure I’m going to be loving this anime.

Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei

Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei

I’m not going to lie. When I saw this title, I was nervous. Nervous because I just watched a show, Mahou Sensou, about kids in a magical school and it was horrible. Really bad actually. Even though you shouldn’t judge a show before you’ve watched it, I was already apprehensive. There’s also the incest vibe too that added to this. However, I watched it and I thought it was a good first start. I want to know more about the different classes and the discrimination that goes on towards ‘Weeds.’ This is the number one show that most people in Japan seem to want to watch (strange too, considering JoJo is back), so there has to be a good reason for that. The animation is good and it seems like the story will be a lot better than Mahou Sensou so I’m hoping this will be good.

Haikyuu!!

haikyuu

This is a series that I’ve been meaning to read, but never did. I’m still not sure why, considering I love volleyball. In any case, I decided to take a look at the anime and it was good. The rivarly between Shouyou and Kageyama is developed nicely. Not much happened, as it was only setting up the rivalry, but I’m liking this so far.

Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii

Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii

I like the setting and the fact that this show doesn’t take itself so seriously and the fourth wall breaking was nice to see, but I’m still not quite sold on this yet. This has an older female with a younger male, but according to what I’ve read there’s only a three year difference so it’s not that big. We were only introduced to him at the end of the episode, so I’m interested in seeing what happens….plus, Sugita is doing some voice acting in this so…I’ll probably be watching this till the end.

Captain Earth

Captain Earth

I have a burning desire to sing Captain Planet, but I won’t….mainly because I don’t know all of the words. Also, because the shows seem vastly different. Captain Earth has beautiful animation. Every scene was just a joy to watch. I don’t like mechs, but seeing as how it didn’t show up until the end I think I might actually watch this show. It looks stunning, the story seems interesting so far, and the fact that the lead character doesn’t become a hot shot pilot right away works in my favour.

Gokukoku no Brynhildr

Gokukoku no Brynhildr

This is another show that I’ve read the manga for. The episode was good. It kind of made me forget that was some lighthearted comedy in the beginning, considering how depressing it got afterwards. Yea…it will get pretty dark soon and depressing, so be on the look out for that.

I think these animes, along with my pt 1 of my first impressions, will be the ones that I’ll end up watching this season. I don’t really like mechs, so I don’t know if I’ll watch any of the ones that come out. There are a few reverse harems that I might check out, but I’m not quite sure yet. In any case, it looks like this will be a good season for anime.

Leave a Reply

