Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren – What happened here?

I just finished Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren. I was excited when I first heard about the second season, because I thought the first one was cute and light. The ending was a little, eh, but overall I enjoyed it.

So I was really looking forward to liking Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren, sadly, I think this might be among my top three worst animes of this season. It joins Mahou Sensou and Pupa, so think about that for a moment.

Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren had better animation and better everything when you compare it to those two animes, but I think what makes Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren so disappointing was that I knew and liked the characters.

Liked. After everything ended, the only one I liked was Shichimiya. Why? Well, I thought she would be useless because she’s pretty much Rikka. Except she has a shared past with Yuuta. I thought the same thing that happened in the first season would happen here, only that Yuuta would stay with Rikka and never stray.

It was kind of liked that, only Shichimiya was always able to separate real life and her imagination. It’s due to this that she was able to show growth and actually feel like a fully fleshed out character. That’s pretty amazing, because she was introduced as a wall for Rikka and Yuuta to overcome. Only, they never even scaled the wall. She did everything herself and demolished it long before they even realized anything.

Rikka and Yuuta never had to deal Shichimiya’s feelings, only she did. Sure they may have found out, but they never really did anything about it….kind of like their relationship. They never did anything. It’s not that I mind really, this is KyoAni and that’s just how they are, but I thought that they would at least spend some time together or talk. Instead, they remain as a father-daughter duo with some added chuunibyou sprinkled here and there.

I think the thing I felt really disappointed by was that the characters themselves never change, except Shichimiya and Makoto. And with Makoto, it’s more of a recission than anything else. He use to be someone that Yuuta would confinde in and actually help him out. Sadly, that can’t happen here because Makoto is hardly in Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren. He may show up casually, but it’s usually for a laugh (albeit a weak one).

With the others, they do get some development but the moment their arc ends it’s quickly forgotten and they go back to their typical typecast role. Dekomori attacks Nibutani. Nibutani deals with her past and attacks Dekomori. Kumin acts understanding but is moe. Rikka is full on chuunibyou and can’t deal with reality. Yuuta…well, despite being the main character he doesn’t really do much but get angry and act like a dad.

I dunno. I just feel very disappointed with this season. It had potential to be really good, but it just let me down. This season wasn’t needed. Not needed at all.

4/10

Leave a Reply

