Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! – Episode 5

When I watched the first episode of this series, I didn’t really like it. There were some funny moments, but nothing grabbed my attention or made me want to watch this. Now that I’m five episodes in, I’m kind of hooked. The show is funny, the characters are quirky, and I find myself smiling after the show ends. I’m a fan.

In fact, this show is actually making me wonder if I should go back and watch Hidamari Sketch×Honeycomb and give it another chance. I do like Shaft, so it wouldn’t hurt to give it another two maybe three episodes before I officially drop it……

……I already have the next three episodes ready to go.

So yea, Chuunibyou is kind of awesome. So awesome that I shall bring forth the darkest power and provide a recap worthy of the one with the Wicked Eye. Banishment, this world! (hahaha, so glad blogging is only online. I wouldn’t ever say that in real life. I feel embarrass just writing that down. Hahaha…….)

Rikka learns that she has to beat the Apocalyptic Math Demon in order for the circle to stay together.

Nana-chan mentions that the last time Rikka faced the AMD, she was badly injured and only had two percent of her life left.

Rikka powers up by trying to divining the answer.

It fails.

Math Session 1: Do you know the answer to (x+7)(x+4)?

If you work it out the long way, you first get [ x² + 4x + 7x + 28 ], so just join the two xs and your final answer should be [ x² + 11x + 28 ]. If this is your answer, then great job! You’re officially smarter than Rikka.

Kumin helps out by letting Rikka use her Magical♥Fairy Lucky Girl Staff.

Rikka isn’t compatible with it.

In a last ditch effort, Rikka decides to show how powerful the circle is by defeating the pool.

Unfortunately, the circle’s was only at the evil clown level and lost the fight.

Yuuta provides support to strengthen an injured Rikka.

Math Session 2: Do you know the answer to this question? If you throw two dice at the same time, what is the probability that the sum of the rolls will be three?

Right away, we know that the only two possible combination to get a sum of three (1, 2) or (2, 1). If each dice has 6 sides, then 6 x 6 = 36 different outcomes that you can get overall. So two possible outcomes over 36 [ 2/36 = 1/18 ].

So the answer is 1/18. If you got this answer right, then Awesome work! You’re officially smarter than Rikka

Yuuta summons more mana to recover Rikka’s energy.

This helps Rikka finally defeat the dreaded Apocalyptic Math Demon.

After the battle, Rikka gains a new protocol code. Black Raison D’etre. (Black Reason for Existence)

So in a nutshell, this episode was about Rikka’s horrible grade in math. Unless she brings up her average, the Far Eastern Magic Nap Society of Summer will be disbanded. Even though she doesn’t do too well, she does make the class average. Thus, the group can survive another day. Until the next evil force comes forth and tries to break up the group.

We also got to see a different side of Rikka during this, which was nice to see. I think my favourite moment in this episode was when Yumeha and Toaka got divorced. It was good episode.

Leave a Reply

