First Impressions: Busou Shinki

武装神姫

Synopsis: The slice-of-life battle story is set in a future that has neither World War III nor an alien invasion — just an ordinary future set after our current age. In this world, robots are part of everyday life, and they contribute in various aspects of society. “Shinki” are 15-centimeter-tall (about 6-inch-tall) cute partners made to assist humans. Equipped with intelligence and emotions, they devote themselves to serving their “Masters.”

These Shinki can even be equipped with weapons and armor to fight each other. Such Shinki are named “Busou Shinki” (literally, “armed divine princesses”). In particular, the Shinki Ann (Arnval), Aines (Altines), and Lene (Altlene) serve a high school freshman named Masato. Things change when a new Shinki, the bellicose Strarf, joins them.

First Impression: I’m not impressed. I wanted to like this, because it sounded like a cute, lighthearted anime that I would enjoy. Instead, it’s an anime about three robots who wear clothing that makes me think that their ‘master’ is a bit on the pervy side.

The anime, at least from the first episode, seems to be Shinki doing household chores while being cute and fan servicey. Sure, the Shinki fight, and in the first few minutes you really start to think that this might be a battle anime, only once the show starts you realize how wrong you are. From the synopsis, Busou Shinki made me think of Chobits mixed with Pokemon, but it’s not. It’s mostly Shinki doing Shinki things. So cleaning and talking to one another and stuff. This isn’t a bad thing. I like that it’s different from what I originally expected. It’s just that I don’t like this.

There are two good points though. The first is that the hamster is super cute and probably my favourite character on the show. The second best thing is the art style. I liked that the humans were styled differently than the Shinki. While the Shinki were highly detailed and bright, the humans were less detailed, very smooth looking, and a bit more subdued. The contrast was nice, because in a lot of robot/human shows both the human and robots are styled the same. This is the first time I saw something different, so I quite liked that.

Other than those two points, there isn’t much else to like about this show. If you want to watch a slice-of-life robot show with cute girls doing chores, then maybe you’d like this a lot more than I did. Sadly, I think one episode is enough of Busou Shinki for me, but I’ll give it another episode or two before deciding whether I really hate it or just can’t stand it.

Leave a Reply

