First Impressions: Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun

となりの怪物くん

Synopsis: Mizutani Shizuku is the type of person who only cares for her own grades. But when she accidentally delivers lesson notes to Yoshida Haru, he becomes convinced they are friends.

Haru turns out to have a very innocent personality, but who would’ve thought that Haru would actually confess to Shizuku?

A cold-hearted girl and super-troublemaker romance with a fresh new perspective.

First Impressions: I don’t usually watch romance animes, but after I read the synopsis for Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun, I thought I’d give it a try. I’m glad I did, because I really enjoyed this.

Haru was suspended after beating up some of his upperclassmen. His suspension has long finished, but he’s still not going to school. Shizuka, after being bribed by her teacher, is told to give him some school handouts. Shizuka meets him and Haru calls her his friend.

This is the start of a weird friendship romance. Both are not familiar with having friends. Haru wants them, but everyone seems to be afraid of him…because he’s scary and even when he thinks he made friends, they just take advantage of his naïve personality. Shizuka is the complete opposite. She just wants to study all the time and doesn’t see the purpose of having friends

Both are very different, but very similar as well, which is why their friendship is so appealing to me. I’m assuming that they’re both going to help change the other as the story goes on, so I’ll be looking forward to that.

A lot does happen in the first episode. This could be a bad thing as it did feel like a full season just occurred, but I don’t think most people will mind too much. The pacing was fine and I’m sure that it will slow down a bit in the next episode or so.

I think the only semi minus would be the art style. I’m not completely sold on it yet, but it might grow on me. Overall, Haru is cute and I like Shizuka, so I’m a fan of this anime. Can’t wait for episode 2.

Food for Thought: Is Shizuka’s presence so unnoticeable that the people around her don’t notice when Haru grabs her? It happened twice in this episode and no one notices a thing, but it’s the second time that has me worried. One moment she’s walking with her fellow students and the next she’s pulled into an alley and everyone keeps on walking like this isn’t something to worry about. This is quite troubling, either this is a normal thing that happens outside of their school, so the students don’t care. Or, she’s joined the stealth club with Momo and Kuroko. In any case, poor Shizuka.

Leave a Reply

