First Impression: Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai!

中二病でも恋がしたい!

Synopsis: Yuuta Togashi suffered from chuunibyou while he was in middle school. When he graduated, he put that dark history behind him and forgot about it… or he was supposed to. High school was smooth sailing and full of enjoyment – until the unavoidable, sad event occurs. The event that locks Yuuta into a contract with Rikka Takanashi and disrupts his desperately ordinary life.

First Impression: After seeing the love this show was getting on tumblr, I thought I’d check it out. However, once I finished watching it I felt nothing. Not love, not hate, just nothing.

I’m not even sure I can explain my feelings well. From the synopsis and the gifs I saw, it seems like I should like this. I mean, the basic premise is interesting and very relatable, and I like the two main characters so far. Yuuta trying to be a normal guy, doing normal things, that normal people normally do is funny, because you know he’s going to fail. And once Rinka enters the picture, he fails hardcore.

Bouncing around in the nurse’s office isn’t the best way to show that you’re normal. lol

Rinka is very moe, so she’s cute by default. I like her enthusiasm to beliefs and how she doesn’t care what others think. But the best part of the episode is seeing Yuuta and Rinka interact with one another. They’re a good duo. And I do wonder how long it will take Rink to bring Yuuta back to the dark side.

So why wasn’t I an instant fan? To be honest, I’m not quite sure. Like I said before, I should like this, but after I finished watching it I felt like nothing really stood out and made me feel like this show was special. I’m going to give it another episode or two before I decide whether or not I like it, but so far I’m on the fence.

Unnecessary Accessory: Not sure why Nibutani has a hair clip on her bangs. I haven’t used hair clips in a really, really, long time, but from what I remember hair clips are used to clip the hair back. Not just sit on the bangs for no reason. Hmmm, maybe this is revealed in the show?

Leave a Reply

