SAO episode 14

Episode 14 marks the end of the first arc of SAO. Not sure what will come next, but I keep hearing about ALO so I guess that’s happening now.

I’m not really sure what to make of this episode though. On one hand, I liked that I didn’t know what was going to happen. Seeing Asuna and then Kirito die was surprising. There was some foreshadowing in the last episode that one of them was going to die, so I knew it was coming. I just didn’t expect it to happen so soon and that both of them died.

I also liked that Heathcliff’s awesomeness was explained. I never imagined that he was Kayaba. His plan of becoming the final boss made the gamer inside of me excited. We don’t get to see that though, because Kirito and Kayaba fight one another and Kirito wins. SAO is officially over and only 4000 people died. Yay?

The ending was also heartbreaking. I don’t really like the Kirito/Asuna relationship, but I did feel really bad for Kirito when he wakes up in the hospital and he’s just saying her name over and over again. I don’t know how he’s able to stand and walk so well, since he’s been lying down for the past 2 years. I was once in the hospital for 2 – 3 days and I had trouble walking after that. I guess this is to show us that Kirito is a beast.

So I did like some aspects of this episode, but at the same time, the fight between Kirito and Heathcliff wasn’t as epic as it could have been and it ended only because Heathcliff allowed it too. The fight was one sided. Kirito really had no chance of winning unless Heathcliff let him, which is what happened. The whole thing was really rushed.

Also, when they showed the flashbacks to Kirito’s time in SAO and seeing his friends die, I kind of felt nothing. I get that it was meant to be emotional and stuff, but it was kind of meh to me.

I dunno, despite how awesome it could have been I was left disappointed. This episode could have been a lot better.

I am excited for the next arc to come. I wonder if they’ll be able to wrap everything up in 11 episodes or if there will be a second season to SAO?

Leave a Reply

