First Impressions: Shinsekai yori

新世界より

Synopsis: About one thousand years into the future, civilization has been retrograded and humans are living dispersed within small communities. People in this era have a psychic power called “Juryoku” which materializes things they imagine. In the absence of advanced scientific technology, people are using this power as a major source of energy.

One day, a girl called Saki, along with her friends, finds a small archive robot outside the town. It records the ancient history of humans. It tells them that Juryoku was found in the 21st century and the discovery caused a world war between psychics and non-psychics. The psychics won this war and thus their reign of terror began.

When the adults in town figure out that the children discovered this forbidden knowledge, they seal their Juryoku and exile them. Saki and the others end up in a forest where they meet a huge hairless bipedal mouse known as a “Bakenezumi” and get involved in a violent war the creatures are currently engaged in.

First Impression: After reading the synopsis I thought, “Sounds interesting.” Then I watched it and thought, “Wow am I confused. Confused, but intrigued.” But I guess that happens when you watch something and forget what the synopsis is…haha….

I’m not sure what to make of this episode. The first few minutes we see shot after shot of supernatural people killing people. Then it goes 1000 years into the future and Saki’s story takes over. Then the show became confusing, but not confusing bad. It was more of the, “What is happening? I want to know what’s going on” kind of confusing….if that makes sense.

There was a point where I thought the director tried too hard at making the atmosphere dark and mysterious. There are only so many cut away that you can do before I start to lose interest, but then Saki’s mother says, “I don’t want to lose anymore of my children.” I don’t know if the director purposely did this to make this scene stick out, but if that’s the case then kudos. I paid attention after that scene and it made me want to stick with this anime.

The only problem is that now I have a bunch of questions about everything. What is the copycat? What happened to Reiko? Are the teachers killing students who suck at their supernatural power? What happened to the other students in Saki’s old class? What happened to Saki’s siblings? What are the parents hiding? Who is going to die? Are people going to die? What is this robot that the synopsis is talking about?

I imagine that there will be more questions coming up with each passing episode, but I’m looking forward to it.

Unintentional flashback moment: When Saki’s power finally awakened and her parents told her she’s now an adult, I had a flashback to the first episode of Sabrina the Teenage Witch when Sabrina was floating above her bed after she awakened her powers.

Leave a Reply

